Turning Monitor off, but no signal when turned on. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2007, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default Turning Monitor off, but no signal when turned on.

Ok, I'm no sure if this is a problem that can be fixed or not... there is nothing wrong with my monitor, but I need to turn it off at night but I leave my computer running. When I turn it on in the morning, I get no signal. I will get a signal if i restart the computer, but is there a way to get a signal without restarting? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

canadian37 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default Re: Turning Monitor off, but no signal when turned on.

If applicable, check the power saving setting for the monitor and disable hibernate and see what that does. Also, some cards have a power save mode themselves, disable it. Just manually turn off the monitor.

If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Turning Monitor off, but no signal when turned on.

Hey, thanks for replying.... My monitor is a an LG 42 inch HDTV, but I've had this similar problem with an Acer 22inch monitor and a couple others....I've checked all the settings, they seem to be normal, but when I want to turn the monitor back on in the morning, I get the no signal screen, right now I'm using a quick fix to get around it... I have my computer power down the display after being idle for 2 minutes, so when I move the mouse or keyboard, the no signal screen disappears and the computer comes back up. But if I go off the input to another one to watch tv or something, I can't go back on my computer until that 2 minutes is up. It's not that big of a problem as I said but it would be nice to just switch between tv and computer whenever. Thanks for the help!
canadian37 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No signal! Sengbasy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 06-24-2007 04:45 PM
Wireless adapter receive signal rbmcfarlane Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 05-23-2007 12:03 PM
Signal Over Range? Very Weird Trick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-31-2007 12:32 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.