trying to set up dual monitors - AAAAAH - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 06:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Angry trying to set up dual monitors - AAAAAH

If any one is able - please help.

I have purchased 2 monitors and an AGP graphics card to run dual monitors (GeForce FX 5200). I am using Windows XP hHome Edition.I followed the instructions but I am not getting anything to the second monitor.

Firstly, the working monitor is plugged into the AGP slot, the only other slot was the original. The 2nd monitor shows power to it but nothing else.

Secondly, when I go into display>settings I am not presented with the choice of 2 monitors as the literature suggests. It does not recognize the monitor plugged into the original socket.

There is no 2nd slot on the new AGP card so I assume that one monitor must plug into the original socket.

I am very new to opening up machines.... I want to trade with my computer and hence the reason for two monitors.

If anyone is in a position to help I would be most obliged, but it must be taken step by step so that I can understand... thanks

Alex
__________________

alexgwoodruff is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

to me it sounds like you are trying to set up dual monitors using the GFX card for one and the onboard graphics for the other, i assume thats what you meant by "the original socket"? it's not going to work like that. it needs to be done with either 2 physical graphics cards or a single that has dual outputs.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

yes that is exactly what is happening. The sales assistant told me that the new card would allow me to run dual monitors... how do I do that if not with the 'on board' port?
Thanks for answering...

Alex
alexgwoodruff is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

take it back and make him explain. if he can't give you an explaination of how to do it thats a fraudulent sales pitch.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

ok, thanks nitestick for the advice... I will return to the store tomorrow. I have been pulling my hair out for the last 6 hours trying to sort this out..... a quiet calm has now descended over me; until tomorrow that is when I go and shove this card up his nose!!!!!

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate the input.
alexgwoodruff is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

In order to use dual monitors, one needs to be hooked up to the standard 15 pin analogue and the other to the DVI using a standard DVI to analogue connector. You can do it with the use of one AGP and one PCI video card but that install is more problematic. That 5200 does support dual monitors using the Analogue and DVI connections.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 135
Default

hey alex, hope you get this before you go back to that store....check the back of your new video card...does it have 2 ports? a blue one and a white one? blue is called VGA, white is called DVI. you can plug a monitor into each of these ports to run your dual monitors....if both plugs from your monitors are VGA (blue) then you cna buy an adapter, that will attach to the end of the plug and allow you to plug into the DVI port.

this is pretty much the same thing Rico said, just thought i'd simplify it a bit. i know everyone that visits these forums may not have all the lingo down. hope this helps!
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 Ghz
ABS Tagan BZ 800W
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
eVGA 9800 GX2
G.SKILL 2x2Gb DDR2 1000
150GB RAPTOR 10k RPM
SUNBEAM AC-9B-HUVB
snick is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks guys,
I went back to the store.... tore the salesman a new one.... and by way of an apology he gave me one of the adapters you mentioned. Hey presto 5 minutes later I have dual monitors YEEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAA.

Thanks for the replies... thought I was going to lose my mind last night lol!!
alexgwoodruff is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

The 5200 has both the (blue) Analogue 15 pin and the (white) 26 pin DVI connectors. All he needs is the DVI to Analogue connector pictured here: http://store.yahoo.com/lovemacs/ma15hdvib.html

YOu can buy them at Radio Shack for $25.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 07:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Just make sure you install Nvidia DualView. It will make your Dual monitor expeirince alot less stressful.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.