trying to set up dual monitors - AAAAAH - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 02-21-2006, 06:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Angry trying to set up dual monitors - AAAAAH

If any one is able - please help.

I have purchased 2 monitors and an AGP graphics card to run dual monitors (GeForce FX 5200). I am using Windows XP hHome Edition.I followed the instructions but I am not getting anything to the second monitor.

Firstly, the working monitor is plugged into the AGP slot, the only other slot was the original. The 2nd monitor shows power to it but nothing else.

Secondly, when I go into display>settings I am not presented with the choice of 2 monitors as the literature suggests. It does not recognize the monitor plugged into the original socket.

There is no 2nd slot on the new AGP card so I assume that one monitor must plug into the original socket.

I am very new to opening up machines.... I want to trade with my computer and hence the reason for two monitors.

If anyone is in a position to help I would be most obliged, but it must be taken step by step so that I can understand... thanks

Alex

Old 02-21-2006, 06:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie

to me it sounds like you are trying to set up dual monitors using the GFX card for one and the onboard graphics for the other, i assume thats what you meant by "the original socket"? it's not going to work like that. it needs to be done with either 2 physical graphics cards or a single that has dual outputs.

Old 02-21-2006, 06:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

yes that is exactly what is happening. The sales assistant told me that the new card would allow me to run dual monitors... how do I do that if not with the 'on board' port?
Thanks for answering...

Alex
Old 02-21-2006, 06:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie