trying to set up dual monitors - AAAAAH

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexgwoodruff

Beta member
If any one is able - please help.

I have purchased 2 monitors and an AGP graphics card to run dual monitors (GeForce FX 5200). I am using Windows XP hHome Edition.I followed the instructions but I am not getting anything to the second monitor.

Firstly, the working monitor is plugged into the AGP slot, the only other slot was the original. The 2nd monitor shows power to it but nothing else.

Secondly, when I go into display>settings I am not presented with the choice of 2 monitors as the literature suggests. It does not recognize the monitor plugged into the original socket.

There is no 2nd slot on the new AGP card so I assume that one monitor must plug into the original socket.

I am very new to opening up machines.... I want to trade with my computer and hence the reason for two monitors.

If anyone is in a position to help I would be most obliged, but it must be taken step by step so that I can understand... thanks

Alex

yes that is exactly what is happening. The sales assistant told me that the new card would allow me to run dual monitors... how do I do that if not with the 'on board' port?
Thanks for answering...

Alex

ok, thanks nitestick for the advice... I will return to the store tomorrow. I have been pulling my hair out for the last 6 hours trying to sort this out..... a quiet calm has now descended over me; until tomorrow that is when I go and shove this card up his nose!!!!! :mad:

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate the input.

In order to use dual monitors, one needs to be hooked up to the standard 15 pin analogue and the other to the DVI using a standard DVI to analogue connector. You can do it with the use of one AGP and one PCI video card but that install is more problematic. That 5200 does support dual monitors using the Analogue and DVI connections.