Trying to find the problem, might be motherboard - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2010, 09:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Trying to find the problem, might be motherboard

Well I used Hard Drive section on PC Check. I did one of the Smart Test, Cache scan, performance scan, and a disk scan. I found no errors. There's the "Non-destructible write test" but it said it would have taken 2 days. Is that the test I would have to do?
__________________

Claudius Graves is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 09:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bentobaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Middle of no where in WV
Posts: 211
Default Re: Trying to find the problem, might be motherboard

You should do ALL the HDD test in that section esp the read and write test and the stress test... although i am confused about the 2days, it is supposed to be about 20min, and i have seen it take 1:30 to complete, but that was a way old pc... hmmmmmm the plot thickens.
__________________

__________________
Look! It's moving. It's alive. It's alive... It's alive, it's moving, it's alive, it's alive, it's alive, it's alive, IT'S ALIVE!

Intel i5 3570k 3.5 quad | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 mobo
Cosair XMS3 2x4GB 1333MHz DDR3 | EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 550Ti 1GB DDR5
Corsair 700w PSU | Western Digital Blue Cavier 320GB 7200RPM 16MB SATA II | Windows 7 Home Premium x64
bentobaku is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 09:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Trying to find the problem, might be motherboard

I wanna point out, badly corrupted RAM can also cause this, even sometimes, not showing errors in MemTest.

It is possible your memory controller is haywire, but that is in the newer processors it self, curious, have you tried running memtest on those sticks in another computer?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Trying to find the problem, might be motherboard

Well I was about to post something like this. I used MemTest86+ with both sticks in my machine using version3.5 the test would last around 2 seconds and my computer would restart. Unless I used version 3.4 or tested only 1 ram stick is when the test worked.

I also did a stress test in PC Check and when ever I did a stress test on the RAM the whole thing would freeze and I had to hold the power button down to get out of it. When I put DBAN in to wipe the hard drive it said that it couldn't find the hard drive, and when I used it through Hirens Boot Disk it was saying I might have bad sectors. I went and got a new hard drive and DBAN did the same thing.

I have yet to test the ram sticks in another computer. So should I replace the RAM, CPU, or mother board?

EDIT: Before I start replace RAM and such, should I try to update the BIOS and see if any thing changes?
Claudius Graves is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 04:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bentobaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Middle of no where in WV
Posts: 211
Default Re: Trying to find the problem, might be motherboard

I would definitely test the ram in another PC if possible... if it is ok, it sounds to me like your Mobo is going bad. There is many options you can go, but in my opinion if that is the case scrap the mobo and processor and start over. Other options will work but ultimately end with the same results.
__________________
Look! It's moving. It's alive. It's alive... It's alive, it's moving, it's alive, it's alive, it's alive, it's alive, IT'S ALIVE!

Intel i5 3570k 3.5 quad | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 mobo
Cosair XMS3 2x4GB 1333MHz DDR3 | EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 550Ti 1GB DDR5
Corsair 700w PSU | Western Digital Blue Cavier 320GB 7200RPM 16MB SATA II | Windows 7 Home Premium x64
bentobaku is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 07:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Trying to find the problem, might be motherboard

Why both the Mother board and Processor? The Month long warranty with New Egg passed and the Processor was $150.
Claudius Graves is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 09:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Trying to find the problem, might be motherboard

Most motherboards have at least a 1-year warranty, given by the manufacturer. You need to fill out an RMA form.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard problem? Woflina Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 12-21-2009 02:28 PM
Problem with Asus Motherboard Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-30-2009 02:56 AM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Windows XP OEM Motherboard Transfer azza_1992 Microsoft Windows and Software 15 09-04-2008 04:28 AM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.