Trying to Find a certain Driver. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2006, 10:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default Trying to Find a certain Driver.

ok, so i just reformatted my hard drive, and i needed to put in drivers for internet, sound, and video stuff, to run everything i need.

its a Dell Dimension 4600 running Windows XP, but i couldnt find the drivers disc it came with.

now whenever i scroll, its very slow because its refreshing the page each time it has to go down a little bit, its very flickery and stuff, not like it was in the past.

i think this is because its using onboard video, not the video card.


so here is my question:

where can i find a driver for an ATI Radeon 9800 PRO?

i went to theyre site (ATI) but i couldnt figure out which thing i need, or if i need anything.

i searched google, also yeidling no pertinent results.

any ideas appreciated,
Phate
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

For one, in BIOS do you have it set to use onboard graphics or AGP (assuming that is the interface you have)? Check to make sure of this before reading on.

Two, here are the drivers you're looking for. Should've been easy to find. On ATI's website, theres a button near the top that says "Drivers And Software." Pretty straightforward after that.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

when i click on Windows XP Drivers and Software, then go to RADEON, it gives me Catalyst 6.7, ATI Multimedia, HYDRAVISION, or Catalyst Crew Feedback, and thats where i am confused, i had gotten there before, but which one will allow me to use the ATI RADEON 9800 PRO? most driver sites on companys just have a list of theyre products and drivers for each one =\
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Catalyst.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

ATI have drivers called 'Catalyst Drivers'. These drivers are similar to Nvidia's forceware drivers in that, they are designed to be compatible with a vast range of ATI's graphics processing units.

You'll want to download the Catalyst for Windows XP Version 6.7 with Catalyst Control Centre. It's available on the front page of ATI's website.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

ok, so i download the catalyst 6.7 for Windows XP, and i install the .net framework 2.0 (says its required) and then i DL the actual Catalyst Controller thing.

it says its compatible with Radeon 9800 family stuff, so a radeon 9800 pro should be in there, right?

when i run it, it verifys the installation, i click install, it unpacks, and starts the installation thing, the full screen installation program comes up, but its just the background.

after a little bit, it gives me an error along the lines of:

The software or hardware that needs to be updated could not be found.

something like that, thats basically the gist, it couldnt find anything to update, or couldnt find the thing it THOUGHT needed to be updated.


also, when i go to Device Manager, it says under Other Devices (question mark icon, unrecognized?)
Video Controller (VGA Compatible)

is this my video card?

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Check this for me, real quick. Start>Run type "dxdiag" then click on the "Display" tab. Get a screen shot (press the "Print Screen" button, open up MSPaint, Edit>Paste. Host on imageshack.us), and post it here.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.