true quad core processing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2007, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default true quad core processing

i know intel quad cores cheapest line up is faster and cheaper than the most expensive amd quads, but my question is amd says its the first consumer processor thats true quad core???
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: true quad core processing

marketing gimmick
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 06:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: true quad core processing

well its not a gimmick because its true. intel is a quad core but it isn't 4 cores, its 2 and 2. so amd is just playing the technicality game.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 06:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: true quad core processing

It's a gimmick because it doesn't bring AMD's performance above Intel, when they use it as a reason to choose AMD over Intel
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 01:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: true quad core processing

they dont say it outperforms intel (any more lol). they say it is a die with four seperate cores on it.
by the way, the "most expensive" AMD quad is like...250 bucks?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 01:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: true quad core processing

It's no false statement. It is really 4 cores in one chip. It is "true" quad core lol, but now rather it outperforms intel's "artificial" quad cores, is a different story.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 07:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: true quad core processing

so really the amd quads are better architexture from the intel quads?
robina_80 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 07:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: true quad core processing

Quote:
Originally Posted by robina_80 View Post
so really the amd quads are better architexture from the intel quads?
There are certainly benefits associated with having a native quad core processor...but so far they aren't enough to bring AMD ahead of Intel.

Things may change with some new revisions though, only time will tell...but I for one am doubtful.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: true quad core processing

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL View Post
It's no false statement. It is really 4 cores in one chip. It is "true" quad core lol, but now rather it outperforms intel's "artificial" quad cores, is a different story.
2+2 = 4. 4 cores = true quad core. Now "native" quad core is a different story. And just going by the benchmarks, the phenom x4 isnt bringing anything spectacular to the table by being a native quad core.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 06:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: true quad core processing

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
2+2 = 4. 4 cores = true quad core. Now "native" quad core is a different story. And just going by the benchmarks, the phenom x4 isnt bringing anything spectacular to the table by being a native quad core.
By "true", I'm sure he means "native". Don't be picky.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Allocate System resources quad core processors Creedance Overclocking and Modding 7 11-09-2007 03:05 PM
quad core or not (again) Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 40 10-10-2007 09:07 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.