Troubles with slave HD. Freezing. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2007, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: westcoast
Posts: 6
Default Troubles with slave HD. Freezing.

So I think my slave HD is on the verge of dying because its starting to make buzzing sounds.

The odd thing is it only makes sounds when I play video games and watch high resolution videos, and after a couple minutes after it starts making the buzzing sounds and the computer locks up and i have to reset :freak: --> but the thing is, have my games and stuff installed to the master so I don't understand why the slave is making noises when I run games or videos.

I tried starting up without the slave plugged in but I get a message saying there's no system disk, which is wierd because my OS in installed on the master.

At first I thought it was becaue my video card is overheating but I got a new heatsink and fan and it still freezes. Both HD's are IDE.
-The slave is a seagate 200Gb, about 2 years old or so, 2 partitions.
-XP Pro

Any ideas? Thanks.
__________________

dentonx is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 01:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Troubles with slave HD. Freezing.

Welcome to the forum by the way.

You should really check your jumper setting for each HD, using cable select which is usually the default doesn't always guarantee the master and slave selection will work flawlessly if there are problems with the IDE data cable and controllers.

Exchange your IDE cable for an 80 pin one, much better at reducing cross talk or other inferences and is preferred for ATA 66 and above. You might as well buy a brand new one or take it from a system that has been known to work for testing purposes. A bad hard drive on the same cable can cause this type of issue.
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 12:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: westcoast
Posts: 6
Default Re: Troubles with slave HD. Freezing.

Thanks. Any idea on why windows keeps locking up on me?
dentonx is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 02:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: westcoast
Posts: 6
Default Re: Troubles with slave HD. Freezing.

My comp still doesn't wont boot up when the slave drive is unplugged. Why !?!
dentonx is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 08:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Troubles with slave HD. Freezing.

Did you switch the IDE cable? check the jumper setting for the master drive? Making sure it's set to master and plug in the right IDE slot?
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rqandom freezing duncan9562 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-24-2007 05:31 PM
New nVidia driver troubles... dead.pixel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-18-2007 03:19 AM
Windows XP freezing Courser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-17-2007 09:13 AM
Internet keeps freezing!! Jimbo1176 HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 05-08-2007 10:21 PM
XP home ed. freezing locking up green6866 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-30-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.