Trouble with new hard drive setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2008, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Trouble with new hard drive setup

So here's the deal:

I'm installing a new HD to replace my old one. They're both SATA, and are about the same size.

I install the drive, and then get stuck at the Post screen. The keyboard will be lit up, but my computer doesn't accept the command to boot from CD.

Sometimes the DVD drive will be reluctant to open up, so I have to use the release hole. This was true even after I switched DVD drives to one that I know works.

I checked BIOs:
-It is set to boot from CD 1st, and HD 2nd.
-The hard drive is detected
-The CD drive is detected

Things I have tried:

-I've switched keyboards
-I've switched dvd drives
-I've switched back to my old HD (it works perfectly)
-I reordered the new HD, assuming it was defective. Same problem with the new one.

Specs

GIGABYTE GA-965P-DQ6 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard

GeForce 7900GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3

Thermaltake W0101RU 550W ATX 12V 2.0 Version SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 2.13GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80557E6400

Kingston ValueRAM 2GB ram

SONY 16X DVD±R DVD Burner With 5X DVD-RAM Write Black IDE Model DRU120C

new HD: Western Digital Caviar SE WD5000AAJS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM



What is going on?

I want to think that this is some sort of power issue. My apartment is old and sucky, and I have trouble with my DVD drives on both computers.

Thanks.
__________________

Lowri is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Trouble with new hard drive setup

Is the new hard drive the same make and model as the old one ? I assume not the same model, though, because a newer one would most likely have more storage space. But I can't assume this. Am I close ? What are the particulars, in other words. Going by what you have put in your post, I can just ask, have you have tried updating drivers for the new drive ? There might be an update at the manufacturer's web site.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Trouble with new hard drive setup

What exactly is the message you receive when trying to boot from your CD drive?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
external hard drive questions wallstreetjourn2 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-06-2008 03:35 AM
Fujitsu Siemens M3438G Hard Drive Problem ? NayNay1991x Laptops and Notebooks 0 08-12-2008 02:10 PM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM
weird power trouble when putting in 2nd hard drive idrisguitar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-30-2007 11:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.