trouble installing windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2006, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default trouble installing windows

ok, so i just bought a new CD of windows XP, while its loading all the hardware or w/e before you get to the screen to install it there tiny black blocks on some parts of the screen and sometimes the letters are replaced with black blocks, and when i get to the part to hit ENTER to start windows XP installation my comuter wil either freeze, or reboot itself. im havin a ton of trouble tryin to get my comp set up so any help would be greatly appriciated, thanx
__________________

schecterbassist is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

try using a different cd drive
or ur hd may hav some problem writing
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 10:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default

i tried 2 other cd drives and still does the same thing, ive basicly givin up and tried everything to im takin it to some computer place tomorrow cuz i have no clue wuhts wrong
schecterbassist is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

run 1 of these programs on system boot to test ur maxtor 4 any problems:
Maxtor Powermax 4.22
Maxtor SCSIMax

u can also test ur Ram as well:
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/M...agnostic.shtml
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.