Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box- - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2017, 09:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box-

Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box- a Gigabyte H77M for an older EVGA X58, a Core i5 for an i7, and a Coolermaster 525W for a Corsair 650W....Everything else was the same- the hard drive, GPU, ram, case...

I managed to boot it up, installed drivers, but everything was slower. Do you think it would help if I reinstalled Windows? The problem seems to be the hard drive- it's a Neutron GTX SSD but I made sure to put AHCI in the bios.
__________________

Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 11:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,070
Default Re: Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box-

You need to do a clean install of windows, your current o.s. has the wrong drivers for your motherboard, cpu and just about everything else
__________________

__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default Re: Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box-

You may be right there.

I've been looking through some of my old posts- here are the parts I'm swapping-

Recommendations for CAD modeling high end comp. - Techist - Tech Forum

Coolermaster vs. Generic PSU for budget build
New computer, no power


If I could throw a roost for all the guys here that have helped me so much over the years= for so little in return= Slaymate, PPMcguire, Trotter, and so many others...

Anyway= yes I'll try reinstalling the OS and shall let you know how it goes in case anyone's interested.
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 02:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,205
Default Re: Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box-

What exactly is slower? What OS?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 06:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default Re: Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box-

It's Win 7 Ultimate x32...

Still hoping to prevent the need for a complete reformat....

The reason I decided to do the swap out was because I've accumulated some rather important files and am setting up a backup strategy with 4 drives:

one main drive, one online backup, one offline backup and one offsite backup- that's where the ol beast comes into play at my mother's basement in the countryside (you can even take this one step further now with the Falcon Heavy launch to do an off-world backup at $1000/ pound).
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,483
Default Re: Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box-

Would suggest reinstalling anyway to get off of 32bit Windows and onto 64bit Windows.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 12:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,205
Default Re: Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box-

Yea, shouldn't be using 32bit for anything past XP. Didn't exactly explain what's slower.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 12:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default Re: Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box-

You're right but it turned out the problem wasn't the OS or drivers. I simply didn't read the motherboard manual carefully enough. I thought all the SATA connectors were the same, but it turns out the fancy red ones are the JMicron connectors designed for raid. When you set them to AHCI with normal hard drives, Windows simply won't boot.
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 05:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default Re: Tried swapping the MB, CPU and power supply of another older (but more powerful) box-

Incidentally, can anyone tell me whether there's an incompatibility with an Antec 1200 case and a Cooler master 525W PSU and/ or a Gigabyte H77M MB? I'm sure I've connected everything right, and tried swapping different ram, GPU, etc. but there's no power at all. (this was to be my backup computer).
__________________

Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make Linux faster, lighter and more powerful Trotter Linux and Open Source 0 10-08-2009 04:06 PM
750 watt power supply vs. 1000 watt power supply Greenplantseed New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-13-2006 11:48 AM
Need more power lines off power supply??? BoysNightOut New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-29-2006 09:51 PM
Which is more powerful? blaackoran New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-30-2006 12:14 AM
Swapping Pagefile.sys from one partition to another KyleHerring Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-09-2004 10:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.