Transfer winodws 8 HD to new pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2013, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Default Transfer winodws 8 HD to new pc

Ok so not entirely sure ehere to post this, but basically my old pc failed (think it's a PSU issue), so time for a new one. I've ordered all the parts, but sticking with the old hard drive.

However, now I've just realised maybe it's not possible to just plug in the old HD into the new pc and hope it works?

Is this a thing you can do?

Thanks a lot for any help!
__________________

marksct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Transfer winodws 8 HD to new pc

Can always try. Might work and might not. I've done it with Win7 a lot before. Just may have to reactivate over the phone.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Transfer winodws 8 HD to new pc

Hmm if your buying a new machine and your old hard drive has windows 8 on it ?
Windows 8 may ask you to reinstall the OS again and reactivate it.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,076
Default Re: Transfer winodws 8 HD to new pc

You may or may not be able to boot it right up, depends on your drivers on the old pc and the drivers on the new. it may or may not ask you to re-activate

Windows Activation FYI
http://www.pcbuyerbeware.co.uk/ProductActivation.htm
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.