Transfer over network spotty, help please - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2014, 02:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Transfer over network spotty, help please

what do you think it is, isp? service still good down 28mb, up 5mb. It baffles me
__________________

y2adre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 02:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Transfer over network spotty, help please

Is it the ISP or my router?
__________________

y2adre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 02:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Transfer over network spotty, help please

If it's just local file transfers, I don't see how it would be your ISP. Would have to be the router.

Have you tried doing a hard 30/30/30 reset on your router? When you say you did a factory reset, I assume you meant you did this through the GUI?

A 30/30/30 reset is:

Hold the reset button down for 30 seconds. While STILL holding the button down, UNPLUG the router from power. Continue holding the button down for 30 seconds. Plug the power back in while STILL holding the reset button down. After plugging it back into power, continue holding for another 30 seconds. In total, you should have held the reset button down for 90 seconds without letting off of it. After the last 30-second hold, release it and wait for it to boot back up completely. Then power it off, and plug it back in. When it's fully booted again, log into the web GUI and reconfigure it.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 06:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default

I'll do that
y2adre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 07:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Transfer over network spotty, help please

FIle transfers are router/signal. Large file transfers cause wireless dip which means the signal rate lowers and that lowers your transfer rate. If it's indeed just wireless having these issues then try the 30 reset first then look to see if your wireless device is fine.

You can see if it's rate dip by monitoring the connection status. If it drops well below 20 or so Mb then you have a signal issue.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (19.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 10:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default

Worked after the hard reset. As always u have helped. Thx guys
y2adre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 01:13 AM   #17 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Transfer over network spotty, help please

Glad to hear all it took was the hard reset.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 11:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Transfer over network spotty, help please

Good to hear. More than likely your router was getting overloaded. I have to reset my POS all the time.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 11:55 AM   #19 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Transfer over network spotty, help please

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Good to hear. More than likely your router was getting overloaded. I have to reset my POS all the time.
I had to do it to my WRT54Gv6 a lot - thing only had like 6MB of RAM, so it would always get overloaded after streaming Netflix and 2 people trying to browse the internet. Switched it out for a WRT54Gv1 (16MB of RAM I think?) with a Netgear AP hooked up to take some of the load off, and it helped. Thinking about swapping it out for an Asus N66U though.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 12:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Transfer over network spotty, help please

I left my E4200 at my sisters house so I'm using a WRT120N instead. Damn thing has the worst chipset ever IMO. My WRT54G has been rock solid since like 2006?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer And Backup Files With File Transfer Software Fling Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 06-08-2009 07:59 AM
How to transfer files over a wireless network in Windows XP Home? Chris Down Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-26-2007 11:29 AM
reboots over and over and over again bumpin_records Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-16-2006 11:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.