Transfer files to another HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2009, 12:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Transfer files to another HDD

Can I transfer my files from one hard drive to another without a windows vista cd or anything I would have to buy online?
__________________

lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default Re: Transfer files to another HDD

Can you be more specific?
__________________

__________________
............nub
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: Transfer files to another HDD

I have a new hard drive(not sata) that's completely empty(desktop hard drive) and holds more space then the one im using now so is there a way to put the data from the drive im using now to the new one?
lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Transfer files to another HDD

Yes, just copy it over.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: Transfer files to another HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
Yes, just copy it over.
are you saying just copy all my files from the old drive then paste it to the new one?
lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Transfer files to another HDD

Yes.

I don't know what you're trying to copy though, you can only really do that with loose files like music, videos, text files etc.

If you want to copy your operating system and installed programs and such over to the new HDD so that it is exactly the same as your current, you'll need to make an image of the drive with a program like Ghost.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: Transfer files to another HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
Yes.

I don't know what you're trying to copy though, you can only really do that with loose files like music, videos, text files etc.

If you want to copy your operating system and installed programs and such over to the new HDD so that it is exactly the same as your current, you'll need to make an image of the drive with a program like Ghost.
and if I do that would I have to burn it to a cd?
lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 03:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Transfer files to another HDD

No, Ghost requires you to put both HD's in the system and it make a exact copy, Only problem is it will make it a Partition the same size as the old HD, so you will have another drive letter for the rest of the space. Why don't you just add the second HD to your system and have the space of both HD's. Keep windows on the original and install any other programs on the second and it will help bootup times also without all the other programs on the same HD.

Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any harmful services running? grkbar HijackThis Logs (finished) 2 10-10-2008 10:06 PM
Please Analyse, ethernet controller no longer working...[P] djmaddogfreak HijackThis Logs (finished) 16 07-04-2008 10:05 PM
New Log enigm@tic HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 12-13-2007 08:45 PM
friends log Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 11 11-25-2007 10:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.