Too much ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2006, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default Too much ram?

I'm using a second PC at the moment. It's a Compaq Deskpro EN Pentium III 866mhz proccesor. Also has a Geforce MX 4000. Now, before any of you freak out saying it's a bad computer, keep in mind it's not a gaming PC. This PC will only be used for internet, music, POSSIBLY video, and chat/IM. No games. No graphic intensive stuff, nothing. I recently installed 512mb of ram onto this machine, and I'm wondering if it's too much for the PC to handle. I've heard cases of where some people install too much ram onto a pc with not alot of proccesor power, and in some cases makes the PC slower. Do you guys think I should keep the 512 on here? Or downgrade to 256? I want the best speeds possible. Thank you.

T0t is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

should be fine with the 512mb

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178

512 MB for sure...that's not even too slow of a processor, comparing to some dated computers friends have. One is a laptop, 100 MHz P1...humoursly as it is...

Anyhow, no way that's too much for yours!
Vormund is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 03:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

Heaps of ram wont slow the computer down unless there is a bug where if all slots are populated it slows the bus but i havnt heard that happening on P3's.

512mb is fine for what you are doing, it isnt too much. If you put it up to 1gb it wouldnt degrade performance but it probably wouldnt increase it much either.

If you downgrade back to 256mb you probably would see a bit of performance decrease when you are multitasking with a lot of stuff open.

Leave it how it is.
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 08:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

512 is the sweet spot with Pentium 3's. I'm using one right now that has 512mb of ram and it runs strong. Keep it where it is.


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource:
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

You can install delilinux and your computer will fly. It can run on a 486.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 02:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

Or if you are running XP you can downgrade to Win 2000 and gain back a bit of resources. Windows 2000 and Windows XP are basically the same but XP has the flasy themes etc.
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 03:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180

Allright, so I installed the 512 last night. Now the computer seems to boot up super slow. Takes 5-10 min before it's fully functioning and I can open up programs. I'll click on a program as soon as the computer boots up, and I'll see it pop up about 5-10 min later. Keep in mind the computer has a 10 gig HD. I recently installed the neccesary programs such as AD-AWARE, SPY-SWEEPER, AND AVG ANTIVIRUS. Aswell as my sister's media(this computer is really hers, I just want to be a nice brother and make it run as fast as possible) which leaves me with about 4 gigs of space. We're going to upgrade later, that's for sure. But not now. Anyway, I don't know if this sudden slow boot-up/performance is because of the new ram, or because of the new programs. I somehow don't see it being the program since before I installed the new programs, I was already at 4.5 gigs. After I installed the programs I'm now at 4.2 gigs. Not much of a difference. Anyway, I really need some help guys, thanks!
T0t is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 01:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead

Yeah the only way too much RAM would slow you down with recent technology is have over 2 gigs
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default should be fine

should be fine with 512.

jogoz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.