third ide - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 09:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ya you have to specify the file system

format c: /FS:NTFS
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:42 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

oh...

can i check after the format if its ntfs or fat32, or isit using fat32 bu default?

its at 12% now should i cancel and do again?
__________________

fuzz is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:00 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no dont cancel it you may corrupt the drive. its strange that its not showing all of the drive though. are you sure its formatting the right drive right now can you verify that its spining and doing things right now. if it is i would still suggest preforming a low level format using power max.

if you dont have a floppy drive let me know i can link you to the ISO version.
http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/Ma...&downloadID=22
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

well i only have 1 drive in so it couldnt format anything else.

but fat32 can only show so much cant it?

dont have a floppy no.
fuzz is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:06 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ok let it format and on the computer you are on now make a bootable cd for powermax.

http://downloads.maxtor.com/download...s/PwrMaxEn.iso
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:34 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

the drive is now formatted and shows 238 gigs free, but how do i see if its fat32 or ntfs?

also burnt the maxpower
fuzz is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:38 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

i checked with fdsik there it says fat32 41865 mbytes free, tho when i am in dos and do a dir it says 238gb free, weird.
fuzz is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:43 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

also, what is the diffrent from powermaxs low level format, to win98s format?

should i do anything else in powermax before doing the llformat?

and will i be prompted to choose between fat32 and ntfs when doing a llformat?
fuzz is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:51 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

that is strange. boot to the powermax disk now and preform the low level format. once that completes boot to the XP cd and create the partition and the cd will format it using NTFS.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:53 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

what xp cd? ^^

the recovery cd from the other puter?

i should do a new primary partition and the format fs:ntfs?
__________________

fuzz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.