third ide - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 08:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

i tried using a formatted ide harddrive from another puter, but then the pc just freeze on the boot image, even if i put it as primary master with no other drives in.
__________________

fuzz is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

boot to the xp cd and see if there is unallocated space for you to partition. i would first suggest preforming a low level format on the drive to prepair it for the OS if you are able to see it using the xp cd that is. are you able to see it in the BIOS?
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

i only got recovery cds from another puter, dosn't work but it allowed me to get to c:

there it says i have 58 files and only 0.8 megs free :S
fuzz is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

does it show the sata drive in the BIOS?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try getting a 98 boot disk and using FDISK see what drives are available for partitioning and formatting.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

yes it shows up.

i have fdsik running now, with 4 alternatives,
when displaying partition information it says
current fixed disk drive: 1
no partition defined

i guess i should go for 1 - create dos partition?
then primary dos partition?
fuzz is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

here this explains it

http://www.freepctech.com/pc/xp/xp00110.shtml
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

hmm, do i need more then one partition for sata 2?
the drive is 250gb.
i use external drives for files mostly.
fuzz is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no i would just make one big one. its up to you tho.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

now im formatibg, says formatting 41,86.65M?

hope all 250gb will be available afterwards..

hmm, i didnt even get an ntfs/fat32 option, since i used a win98 boot maybe it did it all in fat32 :S
__________________

fuzz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.