Test to see if new power supply bad? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2007, 06:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Test to see if new power supply bad?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
somebody knows what im talking about, not like the other replies
Thanks for yet another helpful and informative response.

Quote:
Originally Posted by darsunt View Post
So it is true, you need to put a load on the psu to make it work? I was just plugging it in and trying to run some case fans off it. So that's why nothing is happening.
You can plug as much stuff into your PSU as you want, but if you don't plug it into your mobo it's not gonna turn on. If you want to make it turn on without the motherboard you can do like what CrazeD was showing us, but be warned that it may be bad for the power supply to run it without enough load on it. If you decide to do this to make sure it works I wouldn't recommend leaving it on for very long. Some people say it won't hurt it, but I say better safe than sorry.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 12:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Test to see if new power supply bad?

Thanks for the info. I shorted the green to black, and walah! I was able to run a case fan off the psu.

Now I have the confidence to spend the big bucks on the mobo, cpu, and memory. And one less thing to troubleshoot if something goes wrong.
__________________

darsunt is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 12:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Test to see if new power supply bad?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg View Post
Thanks for yet another helpful and informative response.


You can plug as much stuff into your PSU as you want, but if you don't plug it into your mobo it's not gonna turn on. If you want to make it turn on without the motherboard you can do like what CrazeD was showing us, but be warned that it may be bad for the power supply to run it without enough load on it. If you decide to do this to make sure it works I wouldn't recommend leaving it on for very long. Some people say it won't hurt it, but I say better safe than sorry.
and yet another false comment that darsunt didnt listen too

Quote:
Originally Posted by darsunt View Post
Thanks for the info. I shorted the green to black, and walah! I was able to run a case fan off the psu.

Now I have the confidence to spend the big bucks on the mobo, cpu, and memory. And one less thing to troubleshoot if something goes wrong.
now that we have established the PSU turns on, test each individual voltage to make sure it is fine to use on your new mobo
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 11:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Test to see if new power supply bad?

Quote:
and yet another false comment that darsunt didnt listen too
Please tell me how that was a "false comment."

And I truly don't care if someone doesn't take my advice and damages their hardware as a result. I was only offering some words of caution to a novice, ignore them if you please.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird power trouble when putting in 2nd hard drive idrisguitar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-30-2007 11:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.