Test power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 60
Default Test power supply?

Test power supply?

I have an eMachine T2642 that won't startup at all.

Was working before move.

Is the power supply the first thing to check?

The machine has a 20 pin connector and I have a multimeter.

Don't know how to check to see if that's the problem.
__________________

thewolfe is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Default

i doubt you could check anything with the meter because the 20 pin port usually needs to be plugged into the motherboard for the power supply to turn on. first i think you should make sure the psu is set to the correct voltage. most likely that would be 115V. if your psu (at back of ur tower) does not have the voltage setting then no worry about that. make sure the plug is in correctly. you could use your multimeter and make sure the wall outlet has the correct voltage. if you dont know how to do that, dont kill yourself trying, just carry the pc back to where it was b4 u moved it and try turning it on.

check the pins on the board that go to the front power button and make sure they are in correctly.

u could also sniff around inside the system for any burnt components.
__________________

__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

theres a way http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...487#post819393 , if the psu is working then try resetting the cmos , to do that unplug the power cord and get the battery out for 1 hour then put it back & plug the power cord & power up (and of course,its important to put it back just as it was and not upside down) , if the psu is fine & resetting the cmos didnt help then the mobo is dead
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

The first thing I would try is to see if the 115/240 switch is on the correct spot. Then I would plug it on the motherboard and see if there is any response when I turn it on. If not, I would unplug it and test to see if the plugs coming from the PS work. After alittle searching I found this link. http://www.dvhardware.net/modules.ph...rticle&artid=5 or quote jeremy http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...487#post819393 Since you tried to test it without the paperclip connecting green and ground, the power supply won't turn on. If you have the paperclip in the proper spot and there is still no responce, try to plug in one port to a CD drive. Then if it still won't read anything on the multimeter, your PS is broken.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Its possible to "jump start" a psu. By bypassing 2 wires on the 20 pin ATX connector. Search for it, make sure you know what your doing before you attempt this.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 12:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thebleakness
Its possible to "jump start" a psu. By bypassing 2 wires on the 20 pin ATX connector. Search for it, make sure you know what your doing before you attempt this.
All you have to do is connect a wire to the GREEN wire, and then to any black wire. It's not very hard to mess up, unless you're color blind.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 01:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
All you have to do is connect a wire to the GREEN wire, and then to any black wire. It's not very hard to mess up, unless you're color blind.
I wouldnt put it pass some people to mess up.

You know the saying, "Better safe than sorry"
thebleakness is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 01:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thebleakness
I wouldnt put it pass some people to mess up.

You know the saying, "Better safe than sorry"
Haha.

http://www.virtual-hideout.net/guide...ds/index.shtml
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 07:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

You can test the voltages whilst the computer is switched on but if you're not compotent then I wouldn't try it as you could blow both the computer and the voltmeter.

Alternatively get a proper testing kit



I have the above unit an it makes using a voltmeter easy.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 08:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 60
Default

Checked the CPU by using a paperclilp in the P1 connector. No fans turned on.

115/240 switch is OK and everything seems to be "seated" properly.
__________________

thewolfe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.