Temp Help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2010, 05:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Temp Help

Everything looks good except for that one value. I'd say HW Monitor is reading the sensor incorrectly.

Set your cpu to it's default speeds and volts and see if that value changes. If it drops down to a normal temperature then slowly start increasing your speeds and voltage again but this time see if you can determine at what speed and or voltage setting is causing the spike in temperature.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 06:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Temp Help

It was like this at stock speeds and values because this was one of the first things I checked out as soon as I got the motherboard installed. I think it must be an incorrect value. There is an update for the bios on my MB but I dont really know how to go about installing it. Can someone give me a basic rundown on how to go about a bios update to see if this fixes the problem.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 06:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Temp Help

I see a utility called eJIFFY that ECS recommends using to flash your bios. But I'm not really sure how it works. It's a Linux based utility so you won't be flashing from within Windows, which is good. But I can't give you any instructions.

I recommend creating a Bootable Flash Drive and following the instructions in this .pdf file

http://www.ecs.com.tw/extra/flashutl/afuusb.pdf
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 07:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Temp Help

I need to update my sig on here cause now I am running an MSI 750 g55 like it says in the first post in this thread. and I tried using msi's live update tool and it did nothing
__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 09:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Temp Help

There should be an option to update it within BIOS, or press a certain key to go into it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Percentage Button Oreo Programming 2 11-13-2009 05:25 PM
Microsoft Outlook Temp Cleaner Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-23-2009 12:07 PM
Real Temp v Core Temp Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-07-2009 04:22 PM
Temp Specs and altenitive cooling Spend Overclocking and Modding 2 06-02-2008 05:00 PM
what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!? braz Overclocking and Modding 6 02-24-2008 03:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.