Temp Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2010, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Temp Help

Today I installed my new MSI 750-G55 and new DDR3 Corsair RAM and after I got it all installed and windows reactivated I opened up HW Monitor and under the section labeled temps there is one called TMPIN2 and it is at 115C which I am not sure is correct because nothing feels that hot in the case. Does anyone know what sensor this is and why it might be that hot or is it wrong
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Temp Help

I think you have a fried sensor. I've read around, and that is a sensor on your northbridge. It is meant to be hot. It runs 3/4 of the processes on your pc. Although, I've seen people have it at mid-30C temps. I do not have a sensor on my board. Unless you have problems with your computer, I wouldn't worry about it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Temp Help

Look into what M&M says also keep in mind it maybe a somewhat a easy fix, look into updating your mobo with a new bios update.
Also login at the post screen and go into cmos and check your tempature to make sure everything is fine.
You have a tri-core like a do and there is no way in **** that Phenom ii X3 should be at around 115c otherwise your pc would have sounded off a alarm and quickly shut off before you kill that cpu.

My normal temps with my athlon ii x3 idles at 34c stable not unless my room is warm.
If your bios says your tempature is above 70c, I swear by the moon and stars shut off your pc and make sure the thermal grease is set right and make sure that heatsink is fastened on to the mobo correctly.
I almost killed my old phenom x3 like that because the heat sink came loose and the tempaturers sky rocketed like mad.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 09:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Temp Help

M&M? That's a new one...

Yes, a BIOS upgrade might fix it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Temp Help

I watch the temps pretty closely on my machine and the CPU temp at idle with it overclocked is only at like 28C and I went into the bios to check out the temps too and everything in there shows in the 30's but when I open up speedfan or hwmonitor it shows this one with the 100 something. I might try the msi live bios update thing today. Has anyone ever used that and does it work well?
__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Temp Help

Make sure the TjMax is set to 100. That is what we use by standard.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 04:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Temp Help

what is Tjmax sorry about such stupid questions. I had never even thought of building my own pc until a few months ago and before that all I had was a crappy hp laptop. Thanks for the help. I did try the msi live bios update and it just sat there and said loading for over an hour so i stopped it because it didnt appear to be doing anything
__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 04:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Temp Help

Tjmax, as far as I understand it, is the multiplier for temperatures, the higher the Tjmax, the higher the temps get.

When we say the idle temp for a CPU in idle is ~50C, we are referring to Tjmax of 100.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 04:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Temp Help

In your Bios, where it says CPU Temperature, if only one value is given then that is the cpu "Socket" temperature not the temperature of the CPU Cores. Your CPU is a X3 model which means 3 cores or 3 different temperature values. Post a screenshot of the HW Monitor window so we can see all the values.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 04:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Temp Help

Here is the screen shot of hw monitor
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HW Monitor.jpg (75.0 KB, 31 views)
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Percentage Button Oreo Programming 2 11-13-2009 05:25 PM
Microsoft Outlook Temp Cleaner Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-23-2009 12:07 PM
Real Temp v Core Temp Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-07-2009 04:22 PM
Temp Specs and altenitive cooling Spend Overclocking and Modding 2 06-02-2008 05:00 PM
what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!? braz Overclocking and Modding 6 02-24-2008 03:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.