tears in screen while playing game - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2005, 10:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 43
Default tears in screen while playing game

When i play Day of Defeat source, i get these random, mostly vertical lines on my screen for about a second or two then they dissapear. It doesnt happen that much when i start playing, but when im about a minute into the game it acts up. I have a 6600gt not over clocked. It rusn at 50-60 degrees c. I have the latest drivers from nvidia, 78.01. Could it be the screen? It happens in all games, even cs 1.6 so i dont think its the high-dynamic range or anything. antialiasing at 6x and anisotropic at 16x... maybe, pretty sure though. I've heard of cases but no solving strategies.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

ilyushin is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

it could be artifacting but you said it was not o/c hmm...
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 01:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Vertical Sychnonization / VSYNC maybe?

If the framerate is not synchronized to the monitor's refresh rate, artifacts can occur and you'd usually see 'tearing' of the screen or flickering.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 43
Default

So should i turn v-sync on? its off right now.
ilyushin is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Yes, turn it on, but when you have VSYNC on it will limit the framerates to whatever your monitor refresh rate is.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Yeah I know. I actually get more average fps, except when im rendering a whole lot off stuff i get less. It didn't work by the way. There's this setting on my bios that's Robust Graphics Booster (rgb). It says it increases bandwidth, i turned it on full and im gonna go test it right now. Im going to watch my temsp too. lol
ilyushin is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 07:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You might want to check your refresh rate also... Not sure if thats the problem, but it couldn't hurt.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 02:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Yeah im a casual refresh rate checker. Thanks though. I enabled that thing on the bios and it seems to work better. im thinkin i got it fixed. thanks for the help.
__________________

ilyushin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.