System32 file missing or corrupt - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 09:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

i got the same problem too n my computer has been down since Feb; i am so depressed because i have no stinkin computer to use................

i got no Windows XP Pro CD to use so, im screwed until i get a ****ing job n buy the full version of Vista Ultimate n upgrade.

*back to looking for classes for new semester n STILL looking for a job since August 2006*
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 03:07 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
i got the same problem too n my computer has been down since Feb; i am so depressed because i have no stinkin computer to use................

i got no Windows XP Pro CD to use so, im screwed until i get a ****ing job n buy the full version of Vista Ultimate n upgrade.

*back to looking for classes for new semester n STILL looking for a job since August 2006*
Did you see my post?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I found something else you can use: a bootable recovery console image
http://www.thecomputerparamedic.com/files/rc.iso

you will need to use a program like Nero or ImgBurn (imgburn is free) to burn this image to a CD

Then you can boot from this recovery console CD, and use the commands above (in bold)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:23 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
wrestlingnrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to wrestlingnrj
Default Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
i got the same problem too n my computer has been down since Feb; i am so depressed because i have no stinkin computer to use................

i got no Windows XP Pro CD to use so, im screwed until i get a ****ing job n buy the full version of Vista Ultimate n upgrade.

*back to looking for classes for new semester n STILL looking for a job since August 2006*
Ubuntu Home Page | Ubuntu
__________________
Intel Pent D 820 Smithfield - Intel D945PSN
eVGA 7800GT OC - 2GB OCZ Gold Series DDR2
Logitech Z-5500 *I like to feel my video games*
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...FF00&c5=00FA00
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8...r232274gb4.gif
wrestlingnrj is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 06:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Default Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Do you still get the "C:\windows\system32\config\system missing or corrupt" message?
yes i still get that message

i tried the commands and none worked
i'm going to try to get a real windows xp disk from my boyfriend hopefully soon. so maybe that will fix it
JessesGirl is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:12 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by JessesGirl View Post
yes i still get that message

i tried the commands and none worked
i'm going to try to get a real windows xp disk from my boyfriend hopefully soon. so maybe that will fix it
yeah, try them with an XP CD
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 11:06 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Arrow Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
yeah, try them with an XP CD
he let his brother borrow it a long time ago and never got it back..
and he lives far away so theres no telling when he'll get it back
but im DYING to have my computer back
So hopefully it will be soon
JessesGirl is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:19 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by JessesGirl View Post
he let his brother borrow it a long time ago and never got it back..
and he lives far away so theres no telling when he'll get it back
but im DYING to have my computer back
So hopefully it will be soon
just out of curiosity, did you try the commands using the recovery disc you have? or with the recovery console CD I linked?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:16 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Arrow Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
just out of curiosity, did you try the commands using the recovery disc you have? or with the recovery console CD I linked?
i used my recovery cd... i never got a chance to download the file u linked to
JessesGirl is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:44 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by JessesGirl View Post
i used my recovery cd... i never got a chance to download the file u linked to
I think that's the reason it didn't work.
You say it only gives you an A: prompt, which leads me to believe it doesn't read NTFS

If you can't get an XP CD, then I think the recovery console CD I linked would be your best bet
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 10:37 AM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Wink Re: System32 file missing or corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I think that's the reason it didn't work.
You say it only gives you an A: prompt, which leads me to believe it doesn't read NTFS

If you can't get an XP CD, then I think the recovery console CD I linked would be your best bet
well i got an xp cd from my boyfriend and i got my computer fixed but now i have to get another disk from him that install something so i can use the modem i guess cuz i left that disk there cuz i didnt think i needed it but it wont let me online.. the option to use dial-up modem is disabled.. it wont let me click on it but hopefully that other disk is all i need then i'll be good to go..

i have another question tho.. i tried to install the sims 2 and it ways i need directX9.0 compatible graphics adapters to play.. what does that mean?
__________________

JessesGirl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.