system32\config\system error with BSOD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2010, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default system32\config\system error with BSOD

After having no problem recently with my PC, I turned it on this morning to find a very screwed up looking desktop. I hard booted it, fully expecting it to fix itself, but it gives me an error before booting Windows:

\windows\system32\config\system is corrupt or missing...blah blah blah.

So I figure I would check with my buddies who know a bit about tech support and they point me to use the repair console. So I do, but right after choosing which windows installation to repair, I run into a 0x50 BSOD (page_fault_in_nonpaged_area). I have read that this is primarily a RAM problem. I run memtest off of an iso bootdisc. Everything reads fine. I call my last resort friend who could possibly help me and he tells me to reformat. I go into XP setup again and attempt to reinstall windows, but right after the License Agreement, I get a 0x50 BSOD. This happens multiple times on both repair and install consoles.

Any Ideas?
__________________

tohta6 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: system32\config\system error with BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by tohta6 View Post
After having no problem recently with my PC, I turned it on this morning to find a very screwed up looking desktop. I hard booted it, fully expecting it to fix itself, but it gives me an error before booting Windows:

\windows\system32\config\system is corrupt or missing...blah blah blah.

So I figure I would check with my buddies who know a bit about tech support and they point me to use the repair console. So I do, but right after choosing which windows installation to repair, I run into a 0x50 BSOD (page_fault_in_nonpaged_area). I have read that this is primarily a RAM problem. I run memtest off of an iso bootdisc. Everything reads fine. I call my last resort friend who could possibly help me and he tells me to reformat. I go into XP setup again and attempt to reinstall windows, but right after the License Agreement, I get a 0x50 BSOD. This happens multiple times on both repair and install consoles.

Any Ideas?
I now looked it up and seems like that BSOD is a regluar thing with some people but they resolved it with replacing their RAM which you already indicated are ok. Not sure what the exact problem is but I would suggest a complete reinstall of your OS if you can. Before doing so though, see if you can login and backup your data or use your HDD as a secondary HDD on another system and backup your data.

Edit: By the way, welcome to the forums .
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Torrance ,California
Posts: 130
Default Re: system32\config\system error with BSOD

how many sticks of ram are you using
baih777 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: system32\config\system error with BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
I now looked it up and seems like that BSOD is a regluar thing with some people but they resolved it with replacing their RAM which you already indicated are ok. Not sure what the exact problem is but I would suggest a complete reinstall of your OS if you can. Before doing so though, see if you can login and backup your data or use your HDD as a secondary HDD on another system and backup your data.

Edit: By the way, welcome to the forums .
Not sure if you understood 100% (no insult intended.) If I try to boot straight to the OS, I get the registry error (missing/corrupt.) If I boot with my XP CD and try to repair/reformat/install, I get a BSOD error. So basically I can't backup my files and I can't seem to fresh install my OS.


@baih777 I have 2 sticks of ram. I tried interchanging them with 2 other sticks of ram (matching for both sets.) No difference.
tohta6 is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 47
Default Re: system32\config\system error with BSOD

have you tried using a boot cd containing chkdisk??? I'd give it a try. (chkdisk /r)
Seem's like any attempt to access the hard drive with windows its having sum probs.
CPierce is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: system32\config\system error with BSOD

Not sure what you mean CPierce. AFAIK, I need to be able to access the repair console in order to access chkdisk, right?
tohta6 is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 08:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: system32\config\system error with BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by tohta6 View Post
Not sure what you mean CPierce. AFAIK, I need to be able to access the repair console in order to access chkdisk, right?
Or I think you can try to boot up windows in safe mode, if the normal safe mode doesn't load up, just try safe mode with command prompt and see if you can run the chkdisk command.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: system32\config\system error with BSOD

I will try safe mode, but I doubt it will let me. I will report back!

P.S. Thanks for all replies thus far.
tohta6 is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: system32\config\system error with BSOD

Have you cleaned your PC with compressed air lately? How new is this PC and what type of cpu are you using? If it's an older PC then you should check the fan on the Northbridge for correct operation (the memory controller is built into the Northbridge on older Intel based systems). If it's a newer PC then the memory controller maybe built into the cpu.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 04:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: system32\config\system error with BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by tohta6 View Post
I will try safe mode, but I doubt it will let me. I will report back!

P.S. Thanks for all replies thus far.
Be sure to report back, and no problem. That's what we're here for .
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a BSOD when I try to install drivers... -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-09-2010 11:21 PM
BSOD in COD 5 (IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL) SPL Tech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-15-2009 04:15 PM
Video card/driver causing BSOD superdave1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-20-2009 12:09 PM
Major BSOD problems. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-01-2008 01:37 PM
x64 XP BSOD... PhikMan Microsoft Windows and Software 8 08-01-2008 02:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.