System Wont Start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default System Wont Start

Today I just installed a new mobo and a Thermaltake Venus 12 Heatsink. I put the whole system back together, hit the power switch and nothing happened..... So I opened up the case, and made sure everything was plugged in and connected to motherboard, and tried again, and nothing. With this Raidmax Scorpio Case there isnt a plug that connects the power switch to the Mobo, all you get is a 4-Pin Molex connector (which is flimsy as heck, I have to keep pushing the 2 pins back in) Then there is the HD LED, the Reset, and the Power LED.

So now I have no idea what to do. Either the power supply is garbage.... or there is a bad connection between the switch and the power supply, or maybe it could be something else. I dont know.

Anyway, anyone have any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Ok try this:

Make sure your front panel connectors are hooked up correctly.

Take the PSU out, connect any green wire rail to any black wire rail with a paperclip on the motherboard 20pin connector. And hook some periphials up, turn it on and see if it even works.

Also, the worst case scneario is that you ESD'd on one of the components.


try that for a start.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Alright, the powersupplu works, now what? Do I start pulling parts?
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

you could try to boot it with just the essentials........ But i doubt thats the problem, but its worth a try.

It sounds to me like it has something to do with either your mobo or your panel switches.

Did you ground yourself before installing anything?
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

HIs mobo can be grounding out, however This is simple, for the F Panel Switch the connecters just in case you reversed the On button positive and Negative. Ive done that couple times.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

ohhhhhh, you installed a motherboard????

Make sure it is not shorting on the back panel..........
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

How Do I do that?
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Checking to see if any metal is touching mobo and case or mobo and anything else metal that should be touching.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well take the motherboard out again, dont worry, leave the CPU/HSF and ram on it..... Take it out and check to see if you left any unneeded standoffs, and or any extrusions to the case that would touch the motherboard when seated.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 11:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Alright I again pulled the whole mobo out. The only thing I found on the back of the board was a few small tiny bits of pink plastic. No idea where that came from
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.