System shut down, help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2006, 07:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default System shut down, help

hey guys. i recently purchased a cooler master power supply. its a 430w for the lg775 cpus. now i am running a intel 630 cpu ona gigabyte ga-81915p duo(rev 2). everything was working fine, when my system shut down. now, when it shut down i was not able to power back on until i unplugged the power cord for more then 10sec, then it would power on. but, during post it would shutdown and i would have to do the 10 secs again, after that i tried again, maid it to windows logon. shutdown. the weirdest thing. i removed my power supply from my case to let it sit out. i left my comp running for 3 days. no problem. put my power supply back in. shutdown!. ahh im dying. so i removed it again. was running great then it shut down. but it appears to shut down more when its in the case then it does when i remove it from the case. i switched every component that i have in my pc except my cpu. i have a brand new 530j cpu. havnt used it yet though. want to see what you guys say first. anybody have a suggestion? i cant have this problem persist, please help.

keko2004 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Dngrsone Send a message via Yahoo to Dngrsone

This sounds like an overcurrent issue... check to make sure the motherboard isn't contacting the case anywhere where it shouldn't be. Also, remove as many peripheral devices as you can, temporarily, and see if you can keep it going longer. If there isn't a short, but removing all teh drives and fans helps, then the PSU might be underpowered for the system. Remember that wattage isn't important, the current-capacity of each of the voltage rails is.

Dngrsone is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3

ok, so i dont believe my mobo is contacting the case. its screwed in properly, the only things on my mobo touching anything on the case are my perifials, which touch the face cover for the perifials. also, how do i check to see if my psu is underpowered?
keko2004 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.