System restarts !!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2006, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default System restarts !!!

I have Asus A8N-E rev 2.00 mobo , AMD 3200+ proc,XFX 6600GT 256MB PCIe and two 160GB Seagate HDDs configured in RAID 0.

My problem is that when there is too much disk usage like using DC++ or copying several large files,the system restarts automatically...because of which settings arent saved and windows gives strange errors after some time...

i have read about data corruption in nForce 4 Chipsets but havent faced any such thing in my case even when using Active Armour though i no longer use it now.
Recently i added another 250 GB seagate HDD.the system restarts even when there is file transfer within this HDD which is outside RAID.
Please help !!!
__________________

HellFragger is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Have you read this thread?
http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=61766
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default

thnx
HellFragger is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Did you fix it?

Basically, you want to get CPU temps, VGA temps, and if those are okay, get memtest and run that to check for bad RAM, and if that checks out, test the voltages of your PSU.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default

thnx guys.....it was stupid as in the BIOS the target temperature was set to 51C.....i changed it to 64C and no prob since then...even benchmarked HDD to stress it....

thnx again !!!
HellFragger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.