system reserved HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2010, 07:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 25
Default system reserved HDD

i have 2 hdd's in my new computer that i built. One is a 640Gb and the other is a 1TB. Both are Western Digital Black edition. When i installed windows 7, both hdd showed up when it asked where i wanted to save the OS. I then saved it to the 640GB hdd. Now my computer is up and running, and i go to my computer and only the 640GB hdd shows up. I figured it is because i need to format the 1TB hdd, so i right click my computer and click manage and then i see the 1TB hdd there. It says in there that the 1TB hdd is system reserved and it will not let me format it. so what i want to know is....

1.) Is is true that the system reserved thing is just a back up for the OS? Thats what i was told before and that it is safe to delete is as long as you have your OS disk so you can re install it if there are any problems.

2.) How can i get around this so i can format the drive and use my 1TB hdd?

Thanks!
__________________

Alston518 is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 10:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: system reserved HDD

Did you initialize the 1TB HDD? In Computer Management -> Disk Management.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 11:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: system reserved HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Did you initialize the 1TB HDD? In Computer Management -> Disk Management.
how do you do that? I looked and could not find a way to do that
Alston518 is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: system reserved HDD

1. right click on My Computer
2. left click on Manage
3. left click on Disk Manager
4. right click on the icon of the hdd
5. left click on Initialize

In the lower half, you should see your 1TB drive. Not on the top pane.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-20-2010, 08:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: system reserved HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
1. right click on My Computer
2. left click on Manage
3. left click on Disk Manager
4. right click on the icon of the hdd
5. left click on Initialize

In the lower half, you should see your 1TB drive. Not on the top pane.
ya theres nothing there about initalizing, i dont have the option to initialize it, and the 1tb drive is in the lower half and the top pane
Alston518 is offline  
Old 11-20-2010, 10:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: system reserved HDD

OK, get GParted. Try format from there.

This will help you:
http://www.techist.com/forums/f127/g...torial-224994/
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Nucleus, All In One System Audit, Backup, Troubleshooting,etc. Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-14-2010 01:20 AM
System restore totally cleans malware from system??? mongoose470 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 7 02-10-2010 04:25 PM
AWC-1 Arctic Liquid Cooler System, good system? paintballphreak Overclocking and Modding 0 08-26-2005 11:51 AM
How do I make a BOOTABLE system restore DVD of my current system with NO FLOPPIES!!! mikepg Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-06-2005 12:56 PM
Diskeeper 8 and Reserved System Space aye29 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-27-2004 08:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.