System lockup(no reboot) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2006, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to KGainey
Exclamation System lockup(no reboot)

Hey...
I've been looking around on here for answers for about a week or so and finally decided to post a question.

Specs:
AMD Sempron 2800+
ABIT KU8
1.5 GB DDR
160GB Maxtor diamondback
350W Ultra(I know, I know) PSU

This is my first build and it has been giving me problems since I first booted it up. I think I can safely rule out software issues, seeing as how it locks up on windows, FC3, and ubuntu. It typically locks up after being on for about an hour(+/- 20 min.). The CPU idles at ~26C, and under load ~33C. According to ABIT's monitoring software, the "PWM" is at around 37C after running for a while(not sure what PWM actually is). Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated. If you need any more info, please ask. Thanks!

--Kyle
__________________

KGainey is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 06:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Could be a problem with your memory, run Memtest and show us your results.
__________________

24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to KGainey
Default

okay...memtest is about 80% finished for the first pass...how long should I let it run?

--Kyle

Update:
memtest ran through 2 passes w/o error. Any other ideas?
KGainey is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

what are your temps?
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to KGainey
Default

CPU(idle): 26C
CPU(under load): 33C
PWM: 37C
HDD: 30C

Update: I'm thinking it's a video card problem. I just realized that when it locks up, if I leave it running, it will eventually update the screen(I know by the clock), and then freeze again. The sound just stops, no stuttering, the keyboard stops responding as well, no change when I hit capslock/numlock. I'll try to get a loaner card from someone and see if that'll sort it out... Thanks for your responses so far.
KGainey is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to KGainey
Default

any more ideas?
__________________

KGainey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.