System Hangs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2006, 03:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default System Hangs

I've had some trouble recently with my system. The system will hang completely, forcing me to reboot. An attempt to restart the computer then results in the monitor not receiving any information. My first thought was a video card issue, so I disconnected everything, opened the case up, and fiddled with the video card (of course, I tried reseating the cables first.)

When I turned the computer on, it brought me directly to the motherboard's system configuration screen, which told me that the system hang was caused by an incorrect CPU speed. I have not altered the speed from default. The first time this occured, I considered it a fluke. The second time, I took a little more seriously. The error occured exactly as it had before, the only changes being what programs I happened to have running.

Here are my specs:

Asus P4S800 Motherboard with Pentium 4 2.6Ghz Processor, 800Mhz FSB
Western Digital 7200 rpm 40 gig hard drive, Windows XP SP1 installed
Western Digital 7200 rpm 120 gig hard drive, additional storage
Radeon 9600se 128mb graphics card running in AGP port
Two PCI wired ethernet cards
One PCI wireless card
Lite-on CD-RW 52x32x52x
Lite-on DVD-R
Two USB game controllers
PS/2 Keyboard and Mouse
CRT Monitor
CMI8738/C3DX PCI audio device

This computer has not had any changes to its hardware configuration in three months, when I installed the DVD-R. This replaced a CD-R drive, which was not working properly. Other than that, no hardware changes have occured in at least 6 months. Computer is custom built by me.

If any further information is required, I will make it available.

Inari is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

first of, THANK YOU for being aweomse enough to provide adequate info as opposed to alot of other newcomers on this forum

secondly, welcome to TF

lastly, do you get any beepcodes or.. whaT?

Static_11 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 04:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3

You're quite welcome. Being a computer geek, I get enough people asking me to fix their computers that I know how painful it is to ask "What's it doing?" only to be told "It's not working."

Thanks for the welcome.

And, sadly, no beepcodes, because I don't have a working system speaker. Until now, that hasn't been a problem, and so I haven't gotten a new one.

If only it would use the desktop speakers... *sigh*
Inari is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9

As of 9pm last night, I am having basically the same problem...and I have basically the same specs as the first poster. Here is what happened:

I was playing a game and left the room for about 15 mins. When I came back it looked like my computer was off. The power light was blinking but the computer seemed to be on. I restarted and got a blue screen which said something about if I installed any new hardware or software to reinstall it. It also said that if this was my first time receiving this message to restart. I restarted and nothing. The computer turns on but it doesn't seem to be booting up...there aren't any beeps. My flat screen monitor's power light keeps blinking and I don't see anything on the screen. Someone please help.
orphan is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 02:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3

Actually, your problem is different. Blue screen means that the OS is having issues. My computer gave me the setup screen when I rebooted. The problem may be the same, but the symptoms sound a bit different to me.

Oh, and as an update, taking out the motherboard battery and removing the jumpers (and replacing it all of course) caused the motherboard to default back to normal and got everything working again. As of this time, I do not know if this is temporary or if it is finally fixed. I will update when I have a better idea.
Inari is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.