System freezes when the volume is raised (after adding a new tv-tuner) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2012, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default System freezes when the volume is raised (after adding a new tv-tuner)

I added a new tv tuner in my pc ( CableStar HD 2 [4098/3733] - TechniSat Digital - en_XX ). Each time I raise the volume and play anything with sound in it, the system freezes. If I mute the sound or keep the system volume to 2-4%, it works fine though. I removed the tuner and it works perfect, even at high volume. The audio card is a Asus Xonar D2 (latest official driver) with 2 M-Audio Bx8a monitors.

Any thoughts?
__________________

taximetristul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Question Re: System freezes when the volume is raised (after adding a new tv-tuner)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taximetristul View Post
I added a new tv tuner in my pc ( CableStar HD 2 [4098/3733] - TechniSat Digital - en_XX ). Each time I raise the volume and play anything with sound in it, the system freezes. If I mute the sound or keep the system volume to 2-4%, it works fine though. I removed the tuner and it works perfect, even at high volume. The audio card is a Asus Xonar D2 (latest official driver) with 2 M-Audio Bx8a monitors.

Any thoughts?
Would you please tell me which driver you have for your TV tuner card ?
Could you disable your pci sound card and try onboard sound card ?
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: System freezes when the volume is raised (after adding a new tv-tuner)

The drivers for the tuner are:
Technisat Cablestar HD2 V1.1.1.502, 2.7.2009
Technisat Mantis BDA HID Device V1.0.1.5, 30.1.2008
These are the latest and only drivers I can find. The problem persists even if I unistall the drivers, just as I plug the card in.

Using the on-board sound card or hdmi out sound from the video card works perfect.

The pc is up-to-date with all drivers and updates on a clean win7 install, I also tried a fresh win8 install, the problem is the same everytime.
taximetristul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Lightbulb Re: System freezes when the volume is raised (after adding a new tv-tuner)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taximetristul View Post
The drivers for the tuner are:
Technisat Cablestar HD2 V1.1.1.502, 2.7.2009
Technisat Mantis BDA HID Device V1.0.1.5, 30.1.2008
These are the latest and only drivers I can find. The problem persists even if I unistall the drivers, just as I plug the card in.

Using the on-board sound card or hdmi out sound from the video card works perfect.

The pc is up-to-date with all drivers and updates on a clean win7 install, I also tried a fresh win8 install, the problem is the same everytime.
Hmm, I'm going to need your help on this and be my eyes since I wont be able to see whats on your tv tuner software.

If you say the sound works with hdmi or onboard through your tv tuner.
Check the preference tab and tell me which sound is enabled for incoming video.
Next check windows 7 sound control panel and see whats enabled for the video card to get any sound.
Last time I used my tv tuner card I had to use a aux cable to run into my line in port on my main sound card.
Make sure you "DO NOT" have any sound effects enabled and everything is even out with your speakers.

Its going to be complicated but it should work in the end, atleast you didnt bother to buy the ATI HD pci tv tuner card.
What a joke that was after fiddling with it for 3 months straight burning the thing up. o_o
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Adding a TV tuner to Vista machine. not booting! plumber4578 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-17-2007 04:31 AM
Why I cannot adjust the volume? Tv Tuner! miCkz Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 01-20-2007 06:08 PM
POST error upon adding TV tuner card requiem716 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 08-02-2005 04:20 PM
Freezes...Tv tuner brinks Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 09-28-2004 03:20 PM
MSI TV Tuner freezes (8606) OrionGazer52 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 02-14-2004 10:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.