"System failed CPU test" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2005, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to socav
Default "System failed CPU test"

OK so my computer was working fine. I open the case, take out the stick of memory, write some info down, put it back, close the case, start the computer up, and it doesn't boot. Nothing comes on the screen. All there is is a voice saying "System failed CPU test" over and over. This was about a couple months ago. Since then, I've tried booting with/without the video card/memory/drives, I've re-seated the CPU, tested the power supply, and still nothing. I also flipped the voltage switch on the back of the PSU. Since it can't be any sort of software/BIOS issue, it must be a hardware issue. I'm thinking it was ESD. And since I never even touched the CPU, it has to be the motherboard, right? Are there any other possibilities?

Here are some specs:
AUSU K8V SE Deluxe
Athlon 64 3200+ (754)
512MB Legacy DDR 3200
350 Watt PSU (no brand...)
nVidia GeForce3 Ti 200

As you can see, my video card is fairly old, so I'm thinking of just getting an ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe (has a PCI-e slot) and then upgrade to something like an x800xl.

Thanks for any input.
__________________

socav is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: "System failed CPU test"

Quote:
Originally posted by socav

As you can see, my video card is fairly old, so I'm thinking of just getting an ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe (has a PCI-e slot) and then upgrade to something like an x800xl.

Thanks for any input.
Go with a 6800GT and dont buy ASUS. Buy a MSI or DFI-Lanparty.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to socav
Default

I was just going to go with the ASUS because I was happy with my K8V SE Deluxe. But I'm definitely open to suggestions. What are the reasons I should go with an MSI or DFI and a 6800GT? I thought the x800xl outperformed it on almost every game.


OK so here are my two options from DFI and MSI:

DFI

MSI

Which is better???
socav is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I always use MSI myself.Because of quality...
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Did you ground yourself before touching the memory stick. Try a new stick of ram couldnt hurt...
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 01:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I kinda work for ASUS, and some of their products are pretty cool :P

But myself I have a MSI mobo and a 6600GT lol

Regarding your PC problem. Like splatoid said. New stick of ram or try the other ram slot?

Perhaps strip the PC down to bare minimums? Or jump the BIOS?
__________________
<a href="http://www.flashyflashy.net" target="_blank">flashyflashy.net</a>
darkninja is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 02:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Asus makes great Pentium 4 boards, but their K8 boards are really only average. MSI and DFI pretty much dominate K8 s939.

DFI boards are the best for overclocking
MSI are second best overclockers to DFI's, but are cheaper.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 07:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by darkninja
I kinda work for ASUS, and some of their products are pretty cool :P

But myself I have a MSI mobo and a 6600GT lol

Regarding your PC problem. Like splatoid said. New stick of ram or try the other ram slot?

Perhaps strip the PC down to bare minimums? Or jump the BIOS?
Thank you for my new quote for my sig
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 08:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to socav
Default

I really doubt it's the memory, because I would have gotten a voice message for it. Also, with or without the memory in place, there are no beep codes.

OK, so I'm sold on an MSI, especially since I won't be doing any overclocking. But why should I go for a 6800GT rather than an x800xl? And why not a 7800GT?
__________________

socav is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.