system crash - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2008, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default system crash

Hello. I am having some graphic problems with my computer.

Here are my specs:

Galaxy 8800gt (the one with the big cooler)
80 GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800
Thermaltake TR2-500 power supply
Asus M2N-E Motherboard
CM2X1024-5400C4 2x2gig sticks of RAM
I have one large exhaust fan, and two intake fans. The computer is also dust free.
Microsoft XP Home

Here is the problem, which I think is either a RAM problem or a GPU problem.
When playing any game, like Oblivion, WOW, COD4, and Crysis, the game with seem to lose the picture- the ground and sky will pixelate and text will turn into a solid distorted box. This seemed to happen at least every other time I play. Some games may just lock up as well, either when playing or at the menu screens. In addition, 3dmark06 will freeze up or give me an error message stating the NV4 driver stopped working.

I reformatted yesterday with the current NForce divers and the current Nvidia video drivers from Nividia, as well as service pack 3 and any other critical updates from Microsoft. The same problems occurred so I cleaned the drivers from Nvidia and downloaded 177.83 drivers from Galaxies website. The crashes are now less often, but seem to occur at least 1/3 of the time now.

I also ran memtest for 18 hours the other day and no errors occurred. I am stumpedÖ.any thought?

Thanks
Chris
__________________

pederson is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 09:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: system crash

There is now the 178.15 driver available from the nvidia site. Try those. The 177 drivers were mainly Beta driver which could explain the driver failure.

Also use Driver Cleaner Pro to remove the drivers fully. then restart. Download and install the newest set from teh nvidia site. Then restart after you install those.

Driver Cleaner Professional download from Guru3D.com
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 10:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: system crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
There is now the 178.15 driver available from the nvidia site. Try those. The 177 drivers were mainly Beta driver which could explain the driver failure.

Also use Driver Cleaner Pro to remove the drivers fully. then restart. Download and install the newest set from teh nvidia site. Then restart after you install those.

Driver Cleaner Professional download from Guru3D.com

Thanks for your post. I tried what you stated, but 3dmark06 keeps locking the entire system up. Any other thoughts?
Thanks
Chris
pederson is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 11:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: system crash

Shut down 3dMark. No sense in running it while you are having issues. Shut down that application and then continue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 01:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: system crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Shut down 3dMark. No sense in running it while you are having issues. Shut down that application and then continue.

3dmark is not running when other programs, like games, are running. I am using it to determint the stability of the card.

Any other things i can try?

thanks
chris
pederson is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 02:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: system crash

if you have more than 1 stick of ram do the 1 stick trick with the ram you have. if it fails then it bring it down to gpu or even cpu. get core temp turn on temp recording play a game let it freeze then check the log. if high temps that may be the case if not its most likely your gpu.
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 02:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: system crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by kagekitsune View Post
if you have more than 1 stick of ram do the 1 stick trick with the ram you have. if it fails then it bring it down to gpu or even cpu. get core temp turn on temp recording play a game let it freeze then check the log. if high temps that may be the case if not its most likely your gpu.
ok. i will try that. Does it matter what slot the single 1gig ram module in is?

How would i test the CPU?

thanks for your help
Chris
pederson is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 02:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: system crash

technically no it doesn't matter what slot you put them (unless your dual channeling then put them in the correct slots) in its a good idea to try different slots to see if a slot didn't go bad.
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 02:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: system crash

hmm interesting i had a customer with almost the same problem went down the list of things to check ended up being a bad PCI-E slot same mobo you have...
Darkart777 is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 02:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: system crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkart777 View Post
hmm interesting i had a customer with almost the same problem went down the list of things to check ended up being a bad PCI-E slot same mobo you have...

not good to hear...lol

I had the same problem with previous parts I ordered. I can't recall what the old board was..but the old card was a XFX 8800gt. I ended up RMA'ing the old board and card, with the stuff I have now. The only remaining parts, from which I had the same problem, are the CPU, RAM, and HDD.

Any thoughts? I am stumped.

Thanks
__________________

pederson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual PC operating system JB Rekit Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-10-2008 11:10 AM
New System, Random shut down, no OS -- HELP! Garg11 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-04-2008 12:00 AM
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
Considering buying a system... UltimateCarl New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-26-2007 04:40 AM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.