Switching Hard Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2013, 10:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Default

So, I told a family member that I was getting into computers and I was going for my A+. I asked if he or someone he knew had any old computers. Long story short, I received five old PCs, and old HP monitor, a mouse, a keyboard, and some power supplies.

Tonight, I was doodling around with the one that definitely works and I decided to switch the hard drive with one of the other PCs. Well, I successfully did so but all I get when XP loads is the desktop background with no icons or start menu. What did I do wrong? I'm sure this is an obvious answer.

Also, on the boot screen, I think I pressed "enter" to "load windows normally" when it said something about a hardware change. That may have been where I went wrong.
__________________

chipcreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Switching Hard Drives

When Windows is installed it sets itself up to run on the hardware in that computer. When you switch an installation to a different computer (by swapping drives) Windows can't load because the hardware it was installed on does not match (drivers, etc).

It is possible to swap an installation of XP by using SYSPREP, but I am not sure if that works the same way with Vista or 7.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: Switching Hard Drives

Thanks! I have a lot to learn. I put the original back in. I'm trying to give myself projects with these old PCs. I think I'm going to test the power supplies on them next.
chipcreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 02:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Switching Hard Drives

there is all sorts of fun you can have when getting your certification.
xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.