Switching Hard Drive Platters - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default Switching Hard Drive Platters

Came home and the laptop can no longer see the HD. It's grinding away. I'd like to get the info back, but it's not gonna kill me not having it. So I'm wondering if I buy a cheap-o HD and switch platters with the dead one...is there any way that this will work, or are the platters just too fragile to eff with?
__________________

dredgemortle is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there is no way in hell you can do that. a single speck of dust will render it useless

edit:i'll put it this way. some people have tried tomodify drives by replacing the top with plexiglass so that they can see inside. 90% of the time this fails with a 1gb hdd and a clean room.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

**types lmao and clicks submit reply**


lmao, anyway...^ wat he said
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

you CAN do it for the right amount of money. You would need a clean room, clean room lab apparel, then xtract the chip from the old HDD to the new HDD from the PCB and THEN it might work. Do a Google for emergency data recovery labs.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Sounds like a pretty definitive answer to me. Thanks for the posts.
dredgemortle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.