Switch Platters????? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2008, 09:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Switch Platters?????

Originally Posted by Greg View Post
I've got old hard drives that "click" and still work fine.
Yea, some hard drives click when they are searching for things.


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 12:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Switch Platters?????

ive had something like that before, and managed to find an identical drive and just swapped the logic board and managed to save the files

Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 03:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default Re: Switch Platters?????

I appreciate all of the posts. I really want to hear more post like the last one.If you have tried it or tried anything even if it didnt work, I want to read about it. Tell me more about your experiences.
geekster is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 06:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
eyeCpc's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Switch Platters?????

Did someone say "alternatives"? Well maybe I'm no "Linux expert" but if the drive is still functional to any degree...

you could follow one older srticle's tip on how to use a live for cd Linux distro like Debian's Knoppix Computer First Aid Using Knoppix or ubuntu 7.10's live operation for copying files back and forth between drives like seen in the screen captures here.

You'll notice that the first shows full access to the usb model external drive used here copying an entire folder into a temp folder made on one of the internal drives as a receiver.

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 03:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 05:24 PM
ps2 2 port switch for ps2 ^^ phantomdentist General Gaming 0 11-18-2007 12:56 PM
Cannot ping when server & pc on same switch htcs Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 04-05-2007 10:31 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.