Swapped hard drives now disk says is unformatted - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2006, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97
Default Swapped hard drives now disk says is unformatted

basically i took a hard drive out of an external casing, installed it and an eSATA card into my pc.

at first i forgot to change the drive from cable select and the computer wouldnt boot. i remembered and changed it to slave as it was the second IDE drtive on the cable. it started to boot and then said i had a DISK BOOT FAILURE.

i took the hard drive out and put it back into the external case and now the computer boots fine but whenever i try and use the external drive it says that it is unformatted. i have tried the hard drive in 3 different computers.

whats going on?


zombie_master is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
STATus h2O's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O

Have you installed the proper drivers for your eSATA card first? Make sure that card works properly, then install the hard drive.

<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 12:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97

its not really a card as such. it goes into one of the panels at the back of the case where expansion cards go but it has a cable that connects to a normal SATA port on the motherboard.

the drive is not brand new and was working fine before i put it in but now it wont work in ANY computer that i try it in.

i did think that maybe the eSATA thing had something to do with it but i dismissed this idea straight away as it would just be the same as putting anything on the sata port wouldnt it?

i am also running the Western Digital hard drive diagnostic tool on it and when that is done ill run seatools.

zombie_master is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.