stupid stupid question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2009, 03:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default stupid stupid question.

is there any way to connect my z5300e speakers onto two sounds cards?

im runnin xp and win7 on the same system and drivers are not competable with each other

so i got 1 sound card for each OS. is there a way connecting the speakers to both sound cards?

cuz i dont feel like disconnecting and reconnecting every time i swich OS's
__________________

NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 03:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: stupid stupid question.

what sound cards do you have?

I am sure that one of them would work in xp and 7.
Tried vista drivers for win 7?

You could probably use a minijack splitter but I would try to get one working in both operating systems first as that does not cost money.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 03:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: stupid stupid question.

Let me make myself a little more clear.

Say you have super soundcard 7.1
On you xp install you would use the xp drivers for installation
On the win7 install since their probably are not win 7 drivers you would use either the default win7 drivers or the vista 32bit or 64bit drivers depending upon which version of win 7 you are running.

So you need 2 different drivers for your soundcard. One of your 2 soundcards should have 2 different drivers that will work on each individual install.

So post up your soundcards and lets see what drivers we can find. Also what verisons of xp and win7 are you using? 32bit or 64bit for each.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 05:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: stupid stupid question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Let me make myself a little more clear.

Say you have super soundcard 7.1
On you xp install you would use the xp drivers for installation
On the win7 install since their probably are not win 7 drivers you would use either the default win7 drivers or the vista 32bit or 64bit drivers depending upon which version of win 7 you are running.

So you need 2 different drivers for your soundcard. One of your 2 soundcards should have 2 different drivers that will work on each individual install.

So post up your soundcards and lets see what drivers we can find. Also what verisons of xp and win7 are you using? 32bit or 64bit for each.
I would do this, if you're using the sound cards in a dual-boot single computer configuration. If you're using 2 different desktops, and say a KVM setup, you can use a 3.5mm Y splitter with 2 males and 1 females plugs. RadioShack, BestBuy, Staples, Walmart, ect. ect. should have these cables too.

3.5mm Stereo 1 Female to 2 Male Splitter
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: stupid stupid question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
I would do this, if you're using the sound cards in a dual-boot single computer configuration. If you're using 2 different desktops, and say a KVM setup, you can use a 3.5mm Y splitter with 2 males and 1 females plugs. RadioShack, BestBuy, Staples, Walmart, ect. ect. should have these cables too.

3.5mm Stereo 1 Female to 2 Male Splitter
thats exactly the cable i was looking for but will there be any loss in audio quality?
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
Question about compatibility + recommendations missilekt7 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 10-03-2008 11:44 AM
Stupid question... Millenniumtiger System Upgrades 1 08-23-2008 11:00 PM
Stupid question time mossy1881 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 07-23-2008 02:30 PM
maybe a stupid question about magnets hdansjr Off Topic Discussion 10 04-27-2007 10:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.