stupid ipod - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2007, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default stupid ipod

well, my freind has a ipod shuffle, 1st gen, and its broken...again.

the first time it would turn on, you hit play, the green and orange lights flash. so i updated the firmware, and it fixed it. now its doing it again. and i cant figure out how to get it to work. ive tried the reset, but all that does is format the storage, i need to reload the firmware, but its got the most recent.(i think, its from 1-10-2006) help? it has to be fixed by tonight.

does ipod have a recovery mode like the creative muvo's (hold play and plug in), or...?

also, when the light flashes, the battery light flashes the same colors at the same time as the front status light
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Take the battery out, and leave it just like that for about 10 minutes. Then place the battery back in.

I'm a n00b with Ipod's, and frankly I don't like them at all because they're difficult, but with my Creative it's easy to do everything...
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea, creatives are nice. i would take the battery out, BUT the battery is built in.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

It is?

Are you sure it's not like a little thin rechargable?

I don't know my Ipod's.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

top is case, bottom is guts. pic aint mine, found it using everybodys good friend google

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default

Ipods are the most dogey hardware
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 10:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea...already gave it back to him, he said hes gonna try and beg his parents for something noew... i said get anything but apple, suggested a zune, zen, or a low price creative.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 10:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

check for any poped solder on the ipod and try resoldering it, my cousin gave me a 1gb samsung and i had to prebuild it because the Usb port was torn off
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 10:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

maybe...his usb port fell out, fixed it first time, wasnt ripped, its like a ribbon cable... just had to super glue it back to the case. but many people have had the same problem.

me, personally, i like something with a screen, like my sandisk sansa m240, my psp, or my zune...cant find the right song with out a screen if im in a hurry.

look at the above picture, it has the ribbion like his, just his was a white ribbon.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 11:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

super glue doesnt do **** lol, i tried doing that to my cd player display nothing, try carefully removing the plastic from the torn end and try soldering it in .
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.