Stripping down my System of all HDDs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2015, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Residential Loon
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,092
Default Stripping down my System of all HDDs

I'm thinking if I strip down all my Systems and remove the HDDs and run Nix* in Live mode would that work for SETI@Home or any DC Project with in the volatile memory.

I leave my systems up for months at a time so I'm unsure about how ell it would work in the long run.
__________________

Spud1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2015, 05:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Stripping down my System of all HDDs

I think it could work, but not definitely. Not off a live CD/DVD anyway.

Personally, if I were wanting to do this, I'd just install *nix to a decently quick 16GB/32GB USB stick and use that.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2015, 08:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Stripping down my System of all HDDs

I have a fully working! Windows 7 Pro on a 64GB USB, I can plug it into any PC/ laptop and run my Windows, create profiles, save docs, data, install programs etc, just like a normal OS on a HD...

I found this software thats able to install Windows 7 (possibly other ISOs - but i find it buggy with Windows 8/ 10) on a USB to act like a Harddrive
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2015, 10:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Stripping down my System of all HDDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
I think it could work, but not definitely. Not off a live CD/DVD anyway.

Personally, if I were wanting to do this, I'd just install *nix to a decently quick 16GB/32GB USB stick and use that.
Can do a persistent Live environment on a flash drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2015, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Stripping down my System of all HDDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Can do a persistent Live environment on a flash drive.
This is true, but at that point is there much to distinguish a live environment from a full install, in practical terms?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2015, 10:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Stripping down my System of all HDDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
This is true, but at that point is there much to distinguish a live environment from a full install, in practical terms?
I guess I'd consider it a portable install at that point then.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hardware, linux, live mode, security, systems

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 HDDs or 4 HDDs for a 160gig SATA raid? jaross New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-18-2005 06:13 PM
Outlook 2003 stripping forwarded contacts Dsrt Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-02-2004 02:03 PM
2 HDDs or 2 RAID 0 HDDs? TheOne Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 09-10-2004 05:30 PM
Outlook is stripping away my attachments Harper Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 08-26-2004 09:03 AM
Stripping for windows Demalii Overclocking and Modding 7 03-06-2004 07:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.