strange things are afoot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default strange things are afoot

well, i dont know whether this should go here, or in windows, so i will post here.

every now and then (maybe once, sometimes twice a week) when i leave my computer for a while, it goes into screensaver mode (blank screen) and then into monitor standby. it is not set to hibernate or standyby. when i get back to it (often after 30-40 mins) whatever i do, i cannot get the monitors out of standby. i have to hard boot. i am going to try setting the monitors to stay on, and see what happens, but i am just wondering if anyone has even experienced this before?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Nah never had that exact problem, but I once had an issue with my old PSU, it won't let me get back out of standby until I replaced it with a better one.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I got this from my A+ book "Problems might occur if system BIOS is turning off the monitor because of power management settings, and Windows is also turning off the monitor. If the system hangs when you try to get the monitor going again, try disabling one or the other setting."

Just thought it would be helpful.
Law is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

huh... i have the same problem about every month or so.....
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

.... please tell me this isnt the problem..

right click on your desktop > properties > screen saver > power management. when your there, it should say turn off monitor: ___

Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 02:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i have disabled that now, but it used to be on. The problem is, sometimes once the monitors are in standby, i cant get it out withought hardbooting it.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.