Strange System Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2006, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default Strange System Problems

I recently had some trouble with my PC, and I replaced both the motherboard and the power supply. Now the system boots, but it tells me that a windows system file is missing, so windows cannot boot. When I attempt to boot from the Windows XP installation CD to repair the installation, it will boot from the CD, but it just freezes during the hardware inspection phase. There is no problem with the CD-Rom, I have tried the CD-rom in other machines and it works fine. The power supply and motherboard are both brand new. Does anyone know what might be causing this problem? I'm running out of ideas here. Thanks.
__________________

Corallis is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 92
Default

well you might want to try ram, if you have a few sticks in there take one or two out if you have enough to do so that could be burned or haveing problems
__________________

Zindel is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

as far as i know bad ram can only cause bsods/random restarts/file curruption , anyway you alredy got a thread on this why did you open a new one?
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=97296
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 07:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 92
Default

but if the ram is fried or something it could be telling xp that there isent enough ram so it wouldent allow you to do anything another way to test it if you have no spare ram is to try to install a linux system or something on there witch you can dl very easy and its free
Zindel is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 07:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I've already tried running from a linux live CD... it also just freezes shortly after I try to run it.
Corallis is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 08:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

is it hal.dll? if it is that is normal, its because you changed the motherboard. i would re-install windows
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.