Strange screen while installing vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2009, 10:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default Strange screen while installing vista

here is my story. I've built my pc from scratch a year ago - P5W DH deluxe, core 2 duo 2.4 2g RAM, evga 8800. I recently purchased another pc (quad w/ 4g of RAM) for my office but since office closed down - I decided to take CPU and RAM from office pc to my home PC. I took out both CPU and RAM from both pcs then decided to to double check w/manual (just in time) and found out P5W wouldn't take quad without bios update so I put everything back as it was and I tried to run flash utility , but it would freeze on me all the time so I decided to just put new RAM in. Did that. Now I wanted to install vista to that machine. I boot from vista DVD (100% working installation dvd) and i get this : 2shared - download photo.jpg at the point when it should display menu.
It had XP installed from a year ago that worked ok until I did what I described above. Now approximately 1 out 5 time it loads windows , but after first click screen freezes. Mouse still moves and keyboard responds to num lock, but you can't click anything and have to reboot manually. 4 out of 5 times it runs everything normally including programs, games etc. I cleaned up video card connections, put original RAM back, but I still get the same issue.
Anyone has any idea what this screen and these freezes are all about?
Please help

nonamme is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 12:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Strange screen while installing vista

Could be that the cpu isn't making good contact...also, have you tried running Memtest at all?

Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 01:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Strange screen while installing vista

just ran memtest - found nothing. i don't know how to check if fan is close enough to CPU (if that's what you meant). im running speedfan- it shows 40-42 c idle and 50 on loaded , fan also stands there pretty firm. let me know if there is any other way to check that. thanks for your input
nonamme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems installing vista 64bit Nicol001 System Upgrades 1 08-07-2009 08:13 PM
Buying a Vista Laptop cyclones Laptops and Notebooks 23 08-01-2008 03:32 PM
What do you think? sdpch Microsoft Windows and Software 7 07-09-2008 11:55 AM
Clean Installing Vista on my XP computer.. Kruzz Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-06-2008 12:18 PM
The Vista Death Watch EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 112 11-20-2007 11:20 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.