Strange RAM issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 10:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Strange RAM issue

Hi guys, I am new to the forums here and I have a little bit of a background in computers but I am having a strange issue with a system at work that I cannot seem to figure out. The system works great and has no issues except for the fact that it will only recognize half of any ram stick that you put in it. if you place a 1 gig stick in it, it only recognizes 512. if you place a 512 stick in it then it will only recognize 256. I am hoping that maybe someone else here has encountered this problem in the past and may know whats going on.
__________________

knightryderelite is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Strange RAM issue

it's probably the graphics adapter borrowing memory for it's own use, this is common with onboard graphics and it can happen with certain graphics cards too. check the BIOS settings for shared graphics memory settings.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Strange RAM issue

Hmmm... I will check that out. Is it common for shared graphics to use up that much ram? I have never encountered that issue before.
knightryderelite is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 11:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Strange RAM issue

Check for AGP Aperture size or something dealing with the graphics card using onboard memory in the bios, chances are the GPU is taking 50% of anything that goes into it, check dxdiag to see if it states the ammout of video memory.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Strange RAM issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightryderelite View Post
Hmmm... I will check that out. Is it common for shared graphics to use up that much ram? I have never encountered that issue before.
i wouldn't say it's common for it to use so much but it was the only conclusion i could draw that seems to fit the symptoms properly.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Strange RAM issue

Checked the bios settings and AGP is set to 32mb. I did not see anything else in the bios that could be causing the issue and I even reset the bios all to no avail. The graphics card is a 128mb card so I don't think that is the issue. I have tried multiple sticks or ram and they all seem to have the same issue. I am stumped.
knightryderelite is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 10:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Strange RAM issue

Do you have dual-channel memory ? Is the mobo dual-channel memory capable ? Sounds like the system is not recognizing one stick like it is in a single channel configuration.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 10:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Strange RAM issue

depends on your CPu and mobo--some mobo will not recogrnise dual channel on DDR memory if memory controller are not installed--hence it recogrnizes only hal --do some research on your CPU and mobo if memory controller is needed and installed--maybe that might be the issue
__________________

GG1972 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue stainer711 Overclocking and Modding 11 12-31-2008 12:03 PM
pagefile on a ram disk? White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-17-2008 03:27 PM
Problem Posting After Ram Upgrade skylinegtrv98 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-28-2008 02:53 PM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
Strange connection issue...maybe you can help? cosmic925 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 07-02-2007 06:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.