Strange monitor display issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2010, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Strange monitor display issue

Greetings

I am currently fixing a friend's computer and I have narrowed it down to the monitor graphics card ( at least I think ). Now the problem is if I put the monitor's display mode to 1280 x 1024 @ 75Hz, the screen splits into four quadrents and mirrors itself in horizontally and vertically. Every other display mode seems to work fine however, even those of just lower refresh rates such as 1280 x 1024 @ 70Hz.

Here is the monitor specs

Product Specifications HP f1905e 19 inch LCD Monitor - HP Customer Care (Vietnam - English)

According to the specs it should work with 1280 x 1024 @ 75Hz. I appreciate any ideas.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
www.mprize.org
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 12:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Re: Strange monitor display issue

I want to note that I updated the graphics card drivers and there is no newer drivers for the monitor. But still no go.
__________________

__________________
www.mprize.org
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 01:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Strange monitor display issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by NanoWarrior View Post
I want to note that I updated the graphics card drivers and there is no newer drivers for the monitor. But still no go.
What kind of graphics card is it?

I would have to say you very well could be just s o l and that the monitor won't handle it. The specs say specifically.

Maximum resolution (H x V) 1280 x 1024 @ 75Hz
and
Recommended resolution (H x V) 1024 x 768 @ 60 Hz.

Which can often translate to

"You could but there's no guarantee it's going to work with your comp/settings/GFX"(max)
or
"This works perfectly all the time."(recommended)
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 01:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
stoneys-nutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
Send a message via ICQ to stoneys-nutz
Default Re: Strange monitor display issue

Hello NanoWarrior,
What OS is installed on the PC ?.
I have seen an issue like this before, it was caused by the desktop background, (Vista DreamScene), changed the background and it fixed the problem.

I doubt it will be as easy as this for you, but worth a go.
__________________
dont linger with your finger on the trigger
stoneys-nutz is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Strange monitor display issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoneys-nutz View Post
Hello NanoWarrior,
What OS is installed on the PC ?.
I have seen an issue like this before, it was caused by the desktop background, (Vista DreamScene), changed the background and it fixed the problem.

I doubt it will be as easy as this for you, but worth a go.
I've seen that same thing a couple times but not in the way he's describing but it's definitely worth a shot. +1
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 06:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Re: Strange monitor display issue

Hey all. Thanks for the replies and my apologies for the delay in responce.

When I started the thread, the PC was installed with Windows Vista, but now I have upgraded it to Windows 7 and indeed the problem still exists. The problem can also happen in BIOS oddly so I have a feeling that its just the monitor itself. The graphics card is NVIDIA Geforce 6150SE.
__________________

__________________
www.mprize.org
NanoWarrior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Computer stops rebooting after adding corrupted hard drive Thaqalain Viruses, Spyware and Malware 39 04-29-2010 10:23 AM
A strange issue. ikkaku Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-21-2010 12:51 PM
Infected ?....PC slow and crashing mjt27 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 36 03-20-2010 11:52 AM
Crysis 1.2 patch dario03 PC Gaming 34 08-29-2008 02:42 AM
Seeminly Unsolveable Problem! Reply ASAP! yoshi1476 Microsoft Windows and Software 44 06-13-2008 12:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.