strange floppy problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2006, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default strange floppy problem

Okay, so my floppy drive works, but it doesn't work. Whenever I install the floppy into the case (Antec SLK3700AMB), it doesn't read floppies. That is, the power LED turns on (only when you try to access it, it isn't on constantly) but Windows asks me to "insert a disk" as if there were none in there.

Here's the strange part. If I remove the floppy from the drive cage and set it outside the case, it starts working properly. I suspect that means it must be shorting out or something inside the case, but I can't find any reason that'd be so. Everything looks perfectly normal, so I was wondering if anyone had any insight into this problem before I go messing with metal.

P.S. I have tried multiple floppy drives inside and outside the case, and the scenario is always the same.

pantsiq is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 12:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

Try a different floppy cable and a different molex connector. Try a different drive bay if you can.

Ste is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Floppy drive = $7.50. Buy another one and try it out.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 12:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4

Already tried three floppy drives, don't have a spare drive cage to test. Will check with new cable/molex and return.
pantsiq is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

Sounds like your case isn't grounded. Try the same floppy drive in another machine and see what happens. Floppies can be finicky. But, then're still using a floppy? ...

Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 01:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4

Not my computer. But anyway:

Tested with new floppy cable to no avail, couldn't check power cable as PSU only has one connector for floppies.

Tested it with floppy inside of drive cage, drive cage outside of case. Worked. Hence it must be the case?

How should I go about ensuring the grounded-ness of my case?
pantsiq is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4

Alright, moved it to the lower of the two external 3.5" spots and it's working now. Must've been a weird shorting mishap. Oh well, thanks guys.

pantsiq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.