Strange Computer Startup Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 01:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default Strange Computer Startup Issues

I'm having trouble with my gf's computer during startup...after pressing the button, the computer starts up normally, but nothing is going to the monitor. The little green light keeps blinking. The computer is started up completely, and I can't seem to see anything wrong with it. I tried replacing the video card, but to no avail, and all the cables inside the case are plugged into their proper slots. It's got a 450w power supply in it, so I don't think it's a power issue. It was a secondhand computer we bought from a friend, and it's a Gateway gaming computer. We've never had a problem like this before, so of course we're a bit stymied over it.

Any thoughts?
__________________

halmotors is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

During Power On Self Test (when the PC initializes and detects hardware) do you see any text on screen?

If you have Windows XP, power up the PC, and just before the operating system loading splash screen, hit F8 on the keyboard, and select to boot with Enable VGA Mode. This should, if the monitor is working correctly, force your display to the lowest resolution, refresh rate and color depth.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for replying, Alvin. When I start up the computer, I see nothing on the screen at all. The screen acts like it is not getting any signal at all. I tried pressing and holding down F8 like you suggested, but it was to no avail.
halmotors is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 09:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

pull out the CMOS battery in the main board for couple minutes then put it back in
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

might be a dead monitor?
__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 11:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I tried popping out the CMOS battery, but it didn't work. And I tried the monitor on my computer, and it worked just fine, so I'm kind of at a loss right now. I suppose it could potentially be a motherboard issue?
halmotors is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 05:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 77
Default

To diagnose your problem:
unplug/remove everything except absolute necessary for boot:
(network/modem/audio/lan/hdd/fd/cd/.....)
live just 4 things: mobo (of course),cpu,ram,video.
Also, if you have more than 1 stick of ram, Try one, than try another.
If computer boots up (you can see some text) - start adding back hardware oen by one,untill you find a problem

If computer still doesn't boot up - you have problem in eiher of these: mobo/cpu/video/ram/psu.
For futher diagnostic you need another working computer to test (and rule out) parts, or you need to go to some place to fix it.
__________________

junglemike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.