startup menu help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2011, 08:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default startup menu help

hi; i need to know how to remove an item from the startup menu. i would like to take items out but i have no idea were to find them or even what it is.
thanks:suzzie
__________________

suzzie is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 09:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: startup menu help

In Windows XP, Vista and 7, go to the Start menu.
Go to All Programs.
Scroll down to the 'Startup' folder.
Right-click any programs in there that you don't want starting up, and delete them.

There's a more advanced (and thus more dangerous if you make a mistake) way of doing it:
If the programs you're looking for aren't there, you can go to Run, type in 'msconfig'. Go to the Startup tab. In there, you can unclick any programs you don't want to start up.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 12:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: startup menu help

What i do is go through msconfig to the startup menu,i know that. when there i click to start or not start,i know that. my prob is that i have a couple of items that click to start by their self without my permission and i can't stand that, i have to have total controll of my pc. When in the start menu i can't get a response with rite or left click so i can't delete. My question is how do i find these items on my pc? they do not show in programs or hardware.
thank for the info:suzzie
suzzie is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: startup menu help

Could you post a screenshot of what is in the Startup list? Also, more will appear if you go into the Services tab and check 'Hide all Microsoft services'
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: startup menu help

thank for the info yami, service tab new to me. i unchecked a few,may help; ever heard of "gttask"?its been putting itself in start up. just started a couple of weeks now. i do banking online and concerned.
know of how to remove an item from the startup list?
thanks:suzzie
suzzie is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: startup menu help

According to a quick google, gttask.exe is a QuickTime Task Scheduler. I suggest you try Google next time But yeah, I'm guessing that was installed along with iTunes or something like that.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: startup menu help

Quote:
Originally Posted by suzzie View Post
thank for the info yami, service tab new to me. i unchecked a few,may help; ever heard of "gttask"?its been putting itself in start up. just started a couple of weeks now. i do banking online and concerned.
know of how to remove an item from the startup list?
thanks:suzzie
Just uncheck it and it won't start up anymore. You don't need to completely remove it; this is so you can re-enable it later in case you run into any problems.

If you do for some reason want to remove it totally, you can use CCleaner, and under the Tools portion I believe, is a section to manage your startup list; where you can disable/uninstall/ or remove entries.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Context Menu Enhancer, Add Features To Windows Explorer Context Menu Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 08-05-2010 08:30 AM
Manage Windows Startup Programs With Disable Startup Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 01-23-2010 08:55 PM
Start Menu Replacement Open Menu+ Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-14-2008 12:24 PM
Can you delete a menu option from the 'right click' menu? 706 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-09-2006 01:23 AM
toshiba startup menu allan16 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 02-16-2006 11:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.