startup issues - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 07:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

Ace.....
Make sure your 'power/reset' connector/s are installed correctly on your mobo. I remember I had a problem with that particular connector. It was an open connector with no key, and it was confusing.
Check the manual about that connector.
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 07:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Yeah, make sure that the positive and negative pins are on the right way around. That goes for all the switch connectors.

A system not posting certainly means that it's a hardware fault. Since you've eliminated the graphics card, it will be either the CPU, RAM or the motherboard itself. If all your switches (power, reset), etc are wired correctly and the problem with them still persists, then I'd put my money on it being a faulty motherboard.

TMT.
__________________

TMT is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 10:10 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

TMT....
Just to note...... in his first post, he mentioned that the
'reset' switch didn't work at all. He also had problems with the power button( turning off). So I would definitely say he still has a major problem with the Power circuitry.
* Are you a member of the Overclocking/UK forum ???

John....
__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 11:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default

I built my own computer over the summer and I think it had the same issues as this one. Did you get the powersupply bundle with the computer case? When I did mine was shoddy, so I had to go out and buy a completely new one. Try hooking up a known good power supply.

EDIT: When my power supply was bad all the lights and fans started up, but I didn't get a POST. Which is why the power supply was the last thing that got checked.
Rephistorch is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JKnPA
* Are you a member of the Overclocking/UK forum ???
nope, at least i don't think so. i'll ask him to try another p/s since he did get another one (more watts). however, the p/s does not fit the case properly, weirdly, so it might be that. i'll tell him to try it. thanks guys!
acelightningz7 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 04:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
Default

he bought a new p/s and switched it. still no luck...
__________________

acelightningz7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.