Start up problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2006, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Default Start up problems

Alright so the problem is if I try to startup normally, my computer will make it to the black windows lodaing screen and the bar keeps moving but it doesn't move past that. I've tried installing a second OS on my hard drive but after i restarted and chose the option to run windows setup, it gets to the black window load screen and then a BSOD.

When i bought the parts originally, I was pretty sure that I had bought a S-ATA hard drive but when I ran Sandra, it said I had a SCSI drive. Any other information that you need, feel free to ask.
__________________

Ech0 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

SATA controllers are often recognised as scsi simply because there is a controller card and its not ide. nothing to worry about.

What are your system specs and temperatures?
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Default

AMD 64 3500+
the motherboard is soltek but i dont remember which one
1gb ram
120gb hdd
ATI 9600xt


i can't find out the temperatures because the software that came with that i use isn't working right, probably because im in safemode.
Ech0 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

you might be able to see atleast processor temp in your CMOS, but you say you can get into windows in safe mode?
Have you canged anything recently, drivers anything like that and what sort of antivirus do you run?

Did you take note of what that BSOD stop code was?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

get into the bios and goto pc health/hardware monitoring,report back with voltages & temperature

what os was it exactly? (the *second* one)

is the cpu overclocked? if so its unstable put it back to stock speed
get the hard drive checked with the manufacturer diagnostic software (you can easily find it on its site) , have a good look on the motherboard search for bad capacitors. see examples
http://home.earthlink.net/~doniteli/index27.htm
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=195
if youll find any,rma the motherboard if still under warranty otherwise have em replaced at an electronic repair shop it wouldnt cost much

get the ram checked with memtest86+
http://www.memtest.org/download/1.65...+-1.65.iso.zip
let it do at least 11 passes , possible reasons for unstable ram are
1) too tight timings
2) too low voltage
3) the motherboard dislikes it (in some cases a bios update can fix it)
4) its plain bad
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Im going to restart the computer and find out what the BSOD message is


My operating system is Windows XP Pro bulid 2600 with SP2. I ran stresscpu and im hoping thats a similar program to your mem test. it went for 20k iterations or so with no programs and then i just stopped it.
Ech0 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Default

and my motherboard i found out is

Soltek SL-k8T-939FL / K8TPro-939


K8T800Pro chipset
Ech0 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

you should be able to view information about the bsod in windows event viewer
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Default

well i restarted anyways, the message it gave was


0x0000007B(0xF7C7A524, 0x0000034, 0x0000000, 0x0000000)
Ech0 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;324103
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.