Start up Problem. Please help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2006, 01:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72
Default Start up Problem. Please help!

I turned my pc off overnight and the next day when i came hope, i turned the computer on. The lights go on and everything but when i look at the monitor and its a blank/black screen, i tried a different computer monitor and it does the same thing, neither monitors turned on and at the same time the computer is just stalling, running but doing exactly nothing.

My pc specs:
AMD 64 bit 3000+
Abit An8 Fatality Motherboard
Kingston Hyper X ( 512 x 2)
Powercolor X700 256mb Graphics card
Thermaltake 480 w Power source
Hitachi 160GB hard drive

On my Abit Fatl1ty motherboard it has yellow LEDs in which showed 0.4. ; i looked inside the motherboard manual and it did not show that code with a description of the problem.

I believe that it probably my X700 otherwise the computer would have turn on, but then again i can be wrong, can someone give me some help and advice on how to fix this problem? i know a descent amount about computers but i just want to be sure before i order something in an attempt to fix something.

freak67 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 01:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

Obvious (as already you said) it is probally the graphics card. Do you have a spare one to test it though?


Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219

try using the other connection on the back of your graphics card (e.g use the dvi-vga dongle thing and plug in your monitor to the the dvi port instead of the vga port (White as opposed to blue) ) if your monitor is vga.

Otherwise try taking out your graphics card and putting it back in.
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72

Unfortunately i do not have a spare pci-e card, all my other ones are agp.

And for trying the diferent ports, i tried both of them already, it has the same exact result.

Thanks for the help, anyone have any suggestions on ati cards around the 150$ range?
freak67 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.